Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Problems with wiring....should I solder?
#88855 04/05/05 05:47 PM
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Ok so my theater is getting closer to being finished....and when I think I am getting near the end, I get frustrated with a new obstacle...

I have wires run and connected to a 7.1 system. And I have two wall plates w/ red and black connectors for 4 speakers each. The problem I am having is that I have to strip the wires and put it in this small hole, and screw down on it. I can get all of the wires hooked up, but when it comes time to put it in the box and attach the wall plate, the wires pop out...no matter how hard I screw it in, or how gentle I am when putting the plates in the wall box....Because the wires are so stiff, there is no play, and the wires pop out real easy!

I paid a lot of money for these wall plates, and I intend on using them. I am not very good with a solder iron, but I am thinking thats the best way to go. Would you suggest soldering in the area w/ a screw down, or directly to the post?

I have included two shots of one of the wall plates. Note that the side view has 8 screws, one red & black per speaker. That is what I am having trouble with!!!

ARGH!!!

http://members.cox.net/vegasvec/pictures/backview.jpg

http://members.cox.net/vegasvec/pictures/sideview.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Re: Problems with wiring....should I solder?
#88856 04/05/05 06:02 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
I understand where you're coming from, it can get tight w/ multiple wires in a junction box. Here's some options.

1) How wide is the junction box? Is it a single box? If so, you can cut a bigger hole in the wall and replace it w/ a double or triple box and use dummy plates to cover what you don't use. That'll give you more routing space. As long as there's no other AC wires or plumbing behind the wall, it's pretty easy to cut drywall. Unless your wall is brick or concrete...