Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
6 registered (exlabdriver, 1sweetspot, medic8r, frozen, CV, tomtuttle), 120 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12643 Members
11 Forums
22678 Topics
400305 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17695
pmbuko 16220
SirQuack 13309
CV 11053
MarkSJohnson 10663
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

<3 Love this quote from Jungle on our message boards! Just received my M3v4 and...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#92982 - 05/02/05 01:27 PM Satellite receiver to Pre-amp connections
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3820
Loc: Up yonder
Crap, I just realized that I’ll need to run about 30’ of cable between my Dish Net PVR 508 to the NAD Pre-amp. Currently, I have the 508’s audio analog output going into the HK. The digital output does not work because HD and digital audio is not available in my area. So now I need to run a coax directly into my TV and use the analogue stereo outputs to the Nad pre-amp that will be downstairs. Or, I could run the coax output to the pre amp and keep the analogue output going to the HK, I think. Any ideas?
_________________________


Top
#92983 - 05/03/05 01:19 PM Re: Satellite receiver to Pre-amp connections
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3820
Loc: Up yonder
An amazing thing happened last night. The digital output (optical) worked. Beats the hell out of me why it’s working now, but it most definitely didn’t work a month ago.

So now I just need to get the analogue signal to the pre-amp, which as I stated above, will require about 35’ of cable. I have not been able to locate analogue cables of that length. Can I make them out of RG-6? Instructions on how to make a cable, or cables would be appreciated. The only other option I have is to buy another receiver.

_________________________


Top
#92984 - 05/03/05 02:04 PM Re: Satellite receiver to Pre-amp connections
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6212
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
Hey Mike,

Check out Blue Jeans Cable. Not inexpensive, but great quality.

3 different types of cable, at 3 different price points. To read about the different cables click on the "Back to Stereo Audio Cable Product Description Page" at the top of the page.

I'd think you could get by with the 1694A which is the least expensive option.

_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#92985 - 05/03/05 05:28 PM Re: Satellite receiver to Pre-amp connections
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3820
Loc: Up yonder
Cool..

thank you. problem solved.
_________________________


Top
#92986 - 05/03/05 07:36 PM Re: Satellite receiver to Pre-amp connections
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6212
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
Multi bene!
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.