Print Thread
Rate Thread
General HT setup for newbie
#3042 05/13/02 05:34 PM
yacmed Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
I am just starting my HT and i stumbled across a review of your speakers about a year ago and have been drooling ever since. I am a college student with a little extra money and am looking for some advise. First, can you give a ball-park estimate of the price of the wallmounts your developing. Second, do the m3ti's accomodate banana plugs (are there any speakers that don't). third, do the front speakers of a HT system need to be close to the TV or can they be in the front corners of a small room? four, why have the prices of your speakers been climbing at some online retailers over the past year, (they have gone from 300 canadian to 430 canadian at audioshop). I would appreciate a quick response.
Kore

Re: General HT setup for newbie
#3043 05/13/02 06:27 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hi yacmed

I have a pair of M3Tis and they do indeed accommodate banana plubs, spades, or bare wire. There's no reason not to place M3s in the corner as far as I know, although it may enhance the bass a bit. You should leave some room between the back of the M3s and the wall since these speakers are rear ported. Axiom reports that the cost of parts from US suppliers has increased, I dunno. They are terrific speakers, clearly as the price increases the price/quality ratio degrades.

Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
#3044 05/13/02 06:32 PM
yacmed Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Also, my viewing chair will be against the back wall and i need to know if it is better to have side wall mounted surrounds, or back wall mounted ones, and is it better to put the sub close to or as far away from you chair as possible? as far as sorrounds go, should they be angled towards the viewer or will aiming them into the center of the room suffice?
Kore

#3045 05/13/02 06:39 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hi Kore