Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
how to connect optical toslink cable?
#20894 09/27/03 02:17 AM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
ok, ok I'm a newbie but just got a DVD player and want to connect it to my receiver with an optical tsolink cable. What's the trick...I don't want to damage this expensive cable so I'm asking is there a trick or do you just shove the connector in?

Re: how to connect optical toslink cable?
#20895 09/27/03 02:45 AM
buff
buff
On the tiny male end of the cable there will be a small rubber cover. Its hard to tell its even there and its sometimes hard to pull off (I use my fingernails). Then, you'll pull out the plug from the female port on the DVD player.

Be sure to keep both the plug and cover in case you need to put them back (you don't want dust or smudges on the ends or ports).

You'll have to orient the plug to the port based on its shape. Then, just push it in. Oddly, it probably will not feel all that secure (i.e. it will pull out easily if you are't careful so don't tug on it too much afterwards), at least not as secure as a RCA or Coax type plug.

#20896 09/27/03 02:58 AM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Wow, now you're a hero! I never would have seen the clear plastic covers! Thanks much.

#20897 10/01/03 11:23 PM
regular
regular
I'm curious. I have both hookups options available but went with the upgraded (more expensive) monster cables not the optical. Is there a noticible difference between the two?

#20898 10/01/03 11:25 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
The price.

#20899 10/02/03 01:04 AM
aficionado
aficionado
They're both digital connections. So long as a one and a zero don't look like one another and the timing doesn't get screwed up, there shouldn't be a difference.

#20900 10/02/03 01:20 AM
shareholder in the making
But what about digital jitter??

#20901 10/02/03 02:46 AM
aficionado
aficionado