Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Ya_basta Computer network help please - 01/29/10 08:19 PM
Hey guys, I just purchased an all in one Epson printer, and it came with a Linksys wireless router. The installation went very smooth, but the networking software that came with the router isn't working properly. Whenever I open "Network Magic" I can't click on anything, and when I attempt to, the program isn't responding so I have to close it.

I'm running Windows 7, and I was wondering if there is even any need for third party networking software. If I uninstall it, which I think is my only option, is it easy to configure your network via Windows? I'm new to the networking thing.

Thank you very much,
Cam
Posted By: terzaghi Re: Computer network help please - 01/29/10 09:19 PM
What exactly are you trying to accomplish with your network?
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Computer network help please - 01/29/10 09:29 PM
I would guess that you don't need any networking software. David's on point, though. What are you trying to achieve?
Posted By: Ya_basta Re: Computer network help please - 01/29/10 09:45 PM
Right now I only have my printer connected wirelessly, and I'm going to keep my computer wired. The only additions to the network that I can foresee would be my Zune (pretty sure I can connect it) and my home theater downstairs. I don't have multiple computers or an extensive network. I'm willing to purchase networking software, as long as it works properly and is affordable.
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Computer network help please - 01/29/10 09:47 PM
You don't need networking software at all. All of those items contain all the of the software you need. You can easily connect your Zune and your HT to your wireless, and honestly, that software wouldn't help with doing that.

All you need is your wireless network's name and password. Maaaaybe the type of password (I would bet a lot that it's WPA or WPA2)
Posted By: Ya_basta Re: Computer network help please - 01/29/10 10:22 PM