Axiom Home Page
Posted By: spiffnme What happened to the FMB? - 08/26/03 12:16 AM
What happened to the "Full Metal Bracket"?

I'm this close (holding my fingers REALLY close together) to getting a pair of M2i's to throw in the rear of my room. I'll need something to mount them to my walls. I may even just say screw the credit card bills, and get the QS8's at the same time and finally finish off my 7.1 system!

Anyone here use the FMB? Are they any better than the $25 plastic jobbies I can pick up at Best Buy? Are they easy to use? Do I need to mount screws directly into a stud?

I live in an apartment and don't want to destroy my walls. I have zero experience with wall mounting anything more than a picture frame hook.
Posted By: Haoleb Re: What happened to the FMB? - 08/26/03 02:29 AM
Even if you make holes mounting them. just get some spackle and fill in the holes and then a lil paint and nobody will ever know.If its textred wall they even sell spray textre in a spray paint can.
Posted By: ZeN Re: What happened to the FMB? - 08/26/03 03:08 AM
I just put my QS8's up with the FMB - was a little confusing as they came with no mounting hardware But thats what I get for ordering out of the "outlet"

I just bought some screws from Home Depot - was going to use drywall hangers to mount, but figured that studs are always better than drywall - so took the extra time to find them. In the end, it was well worth the extra time as I'm not at all worried that they will fall.

They are very sturdy little jobbers - adjustable to a degree (up/down and left/right) and felt very secure once I tightened everything down.

If you can hang a picture, then this shouldnt be too much harder.
Posted By: twopecker Re: What happened to the FMB? - 08/26/03 03:14 AM
spiff!