Axiom Home Page
Posted By: oldskoolboarder OT: Need an iTunes expert - 12/21/04 11:38 PM
OK, I've been assimilated w/ a 20GB iPod. One of my Xmas presents to myself. The other is a new singlespeed cyclocross frame that I'm getting built up...

I'm a newbie, just got a 20GB 4gen. I have an extensive library of mp3's on my home computer and a subset on my work laptop. I've loaded itunes on my laptop and connected my desktop HDD as a network drive so that the files stay on the desktop but I can still use the laptop to sync. Everything syncs fine on the laptop when I'm at home. At work, that mp3 network drive is gone, so the files are inaccessible. I have iTunes set to only sync specific playlists which is fine.

Today I added a new audible playlist that's on my laptop. I didn't want to sync all the other playlists so I unclicked them. I resynced and my audible files are there but my 2GB of mp3 were erased!

Need some suggestions on how best to handle this scenario.

1) How do move my laptop iTunes environment to my desktop? I have to install iTunes on the desktop but want to mimic my laptop config.

2) What do I need to do to protect the files on the iPod when I sync from work where the network drive is gone? Do I have to do a manual sync or only sync the playlists I'm updating?

Any clever suggestions are welcome. Now I have resync 2GB of files...sigh

Thanks.
Posted By: curtis Re: OT: Need an iTunes expert - 12/21/04 11:42 PM
I can't help you since I only sync to one machine, but I bet if you post on Apple's iPod support forum you will get an answer pretty quick. In fact....do a search and I bet you will find your answer.
Posted By: expatbrit Re: OT: Need an iTunes expert - 12/22/04 12:33 AM
If I remember correctly there is a setting which allows you to choose whether the whole ipod is updated when you sync, or only new/changed songs?
Posted By: Ken.C Re: OT: Need an iTunes expert - 12/22/04 12:35 AM