Axiom Home Page
Posted By: NeverHappy Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/27/05 05:01 AM
Does anyone here have experience with this amp? I had one years ago but can't really remember much. Reason for the question is I have a family member bound and determined to get one but he wants to know my thoughts.............and I don't have (save the jokes) any on this amp.

Posted By: ravi_singh Re: Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/27/05 02:39 PM
i have heard users on another board mention this amp, as well as a parasound amp and outlaw audio amp, as being one of the best 5 x 200 amps for home theatre and music out there for the price.

i think it was on hometheatrespot

but i have no experience with it, sorry
Posted By: MiniRock Re: Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/27/05 03:23 PM
I used this amp (demoed) for about a month with a Def Tech BP3000 HT set, an M&K S-150 package, and various Sonus Faber speakers as well, in my home. It's a beastly amp man that easily made those speakers sound so awesome in a way that some other amps, and definitely no receiver, I tried never could. I say tell your friend to go for it!
Posted By: pmbuko Re: Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/28/05 12:09 AM
If it helps with the decision, I've heard these amps are extremely efficient -- somewhere around 95%. They are basically class D and use a tracking downconverter power supply which samples the input signal voltage 130,000 times a second and keeps the output running just above that. Practically no wasted energy, so the things run very cool and can be intalled in a closed space.
Posted By: Newf Re: Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/28/05 01:43 PM
Sunfire/Carver are some of the best amps I've ever used. How you could own one and not remember it is beyond me. I wouldn't have sold it.

Get it. It's a really good amp.

Posted By: freesey Re: Sunfire Cinema Grand 5 X 200 - 04/28/05 11:33 PM