Axiom Home Page
Posted By: letigre Centre and Rear Channel suggeston - 01/17/09 05:16 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to home theatre but have been building a system over the past five years to go with my new flat screen. I'm hoping that some of you might be able to give me some suggestions for a couple of missing pieces I need...keep in mind that I'm not looking to spend a lot of money so I would prefer budget-midrange options.

My current setup:

Axiom AX5s as Fronts
Axiom AX2s as Surrounds
Yamaha VSX 1018 7.1 receiver

I'm looking mostly for a good, cheap centre channel that would compliment my two sets of older Axioms. Ideally, I'd like to get one of the older Axiom centre channels to match the other speakers but I can't seem to find any, anywhere. Same goes for the rears.

Any suggestions? I'm aware of the newer Axiom speakers and their benefits/prices. Are there any other speaker manufacturers/models that would match well for my needs?
Posted By: SirQuack Re: Centre and Rear Channel suggeston - 01/17/09 05:23 PM
What is your budget? Have you looked at the Axiom factory outlet to save 10%? Normally you want to stay with the same brand so the speakers are voice/timber matched.

The q's are the best surrounds around, so you would be better moving the Ax2's to the rear channel, and get Qs4's or Qs8's for the side surrounds.

I would think the current Vp100 or VP150 would match up with the AX5's.
Posted By: letigre Re: Centre and Rear Channel suggeston - 01/17/09 05:27 PM
Thanks for the quick reply sirquack.

My budget is about $300-$500 so I'm considering the used market.
Posted By: SirQuack Re: Centre and Rear Channel suggeston - 01/17/09 06:00 PM
From the Factory Outlet. You could start with the center for now, and get the surrounds later. Or get the surrounds first and use your Ax5's in phantom mode to simulate the center, and get a center later as budget permits.

Qs4 surround $193 ea
Qs5 surround $243 ea
VP100 center $230