Axiom Home Page
Posted By: snm69 Center channel conundrum - 04/23/10 02:14 PM
Guys, I'm brand new here, so if this is answered elsewhere, please point me in the right direction. I'm also a novice on speakers.

I am about to buy a pair of in-wall/on-wall M22s as front L&Rs, a pair of iwow M3's for the rears of a 5.1 system. I am struggling with the center.

I have read many, many reviews and opinions on the VP100 and 150 centers and although 90% are excellent, a few people say they emphasizes "s" sounds and pop the "p" sounds (and I dislike that trait). Is that due to the frequency response at all, and would an M22 center (it would have to be an in-wall M22) sound any better?...I know what sounds "better" is a very personal thing. Or would LCR iwow M3s do a good job as an alternative?

My room is "U" shaped (i.e.one side is open to our kitchen) and 15 feet by 12 feet in area and 9 feet high. Typical L'shaped sofa and a large picture window on the wall opposite the LCD TV. We watch TV and I love to listen to music, so I am really leaning towards to good system musically, with movies as a secondary requirement.

As for the sub, I am leaning towards an EP175. The only sub I have heard is an Orb Super 80 which I am testing (the orb system is about to go back - I don't like the sound, which seems to be missing the whole mid-range). But the Orb has this BASH digital processing and the EP75 does not. If anyone can explain what that's all about, I would appreciate it.

Thanks ever so!

Cheers!
Posted By: BobKay Re: Center channel conundrum - 04/23/10 02:44 PM
SNM: Do hang out here, or check back regularly for an answer to your question. There are lots of forum members who check in daily and will get to your question in detail soon. I've watched them in action and the detail of their knowledge can be scary. Their willingness to share is awesome.

You won't be disappointed. Welcome!
Posted By: CatBrat Re: Center channel conundrum - 04/23/10 02:53 PM