Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings

Posted by: Ken.C

Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/26/13 08:50 PM

Does anyone know of a fast way to turn on or off Audyssey Dynamic Volume? I'm not that likely to use it, but my wife likes watching hockey games late at night, when everyone else is asleep. She has a hard time hearing the commentators, so she turns it up really loud. I think Dynamic Volume would help with this, but I don't want it on all the time, and there's no way in hell she's going to go through the 18 keypresses (or so) it takes to do it in the Onk manual. I guess I can set it up using the Harmony, but I was wondering if there was a better way.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/26/13 09:39 PM

Ken, I use Dynamic EQ at all times, but not Dynamic Volume. I haven't considered this at great length, but I'm not aware of any Onkyo provision for a one-click or other rapid way to select it. The menu entry appears to be the only route.
Posted by: pmbuko

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/26/13 10:44 PM

I learned something new about Ken's wife today.
Posted by: jakewash

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 12:29 AM

The Harmony is the easiest way, was for my Denon too. I have my One set up with a 'soft' button in the display.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 08:19 AM

So basically something like Home>Down>Enter>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Right>Enter>Down>Down>Return>Return?
Posted by: tomtuttle

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 10:09 AM

Good grief.

I'm not sure how or if it would help you, but sometimes I have found that there are commands available in harmony or URC databases that are not native on the device's remote.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 10:21 AM

I haven't made an actual count of the keystrokes needed. But it's not insignificant.
Posted by: alan

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 10:32 AM

Hi Ken,

There may be a less complicated alternative for you. I have my TV set up so the line analog audio-out jacks from the TV go to an inexpensive AR wireless headphone base unit. My son is a night owl and when he visits he used to watch TV with the volume too high (I'm a light sleeper.) So I rigged the wireless headphone setup. All he has to is put on the headphones and mute the TV speakers. This arrangement bypasses the AV receiver, amps, surround system, everything. He's not mechanically inclined so it's perfect for him and I get my sleep.

If your TV has a headphone output, you could use a wired headset as a cheapo solution instead of the above.

Alan
Posted by: Eno

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 06:49 PM

Set up one of the remote's 'Quick Select' buttons to turn on the Dynamic Volume. You can save the specific input source, volume, surround mode, and Audyssey Dynamic Volume on any of the quick select buttons.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 08:36 PM

There are quick select buttons?
Posted by: JohnK

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 09:07 PM

Eno didn't specify, but he may have been referring to some Denon remotes which have "quick select" buttons.
Posted by: pmbuko

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 09:58 PM

Ken, maybe it's a sign. More hip checks in the bedroom.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 11:17 PM

I'm pretty sure I can cycle through, Audyssey off/on, EQ, and Volume (if I have it turned on to begin with) on my Denon. Will try it most likely on Friday night, that will be the next time we are down in the theater. Onkyo might be similar...
Posted by: jakewash

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/27/13 11:24 PM

You can on the Denon, IIRC,you hit the surround parameter button on the Denon remote and it cycles through Audyssey; no idea if Onkyo remote is similar.
Posted by: Boltron

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 04:47 AM

On my Denon it's only possible with Quick Selects. I don't know if Onkyo has the same feature.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 08:54 AM

It doesn't seem to. I'm coming to realize that the Onk has a pretty interface, but no fast way to do anything. Ah well.
Posted by: Boltron

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 03:24 PM

Oh well. I like Quick Select other than that the Denon UI is pretty user hostile though.
Posted by: tomtuttle

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 03:56 PM

"user hostile" LOL! Love it. I feel like you could make a good parody of their manuals with that concept.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 04:02 PM

Press the setup button, or I'll cut you. Press it. PRESS IT!
Posted by: medic8r

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 02/28/13 04:04 PM

Press once for STABBITY.
Press twice for STABBITY STABBITY.
Posted by: Eno

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 10:52 AM

Sorry, I totally missed "Onk" in the OP.
My quick select mention was for Denon.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 11:01 AM

No worries. I appreciate the attempted assistance in any case.
Posted by: Dundas

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 05:40 PM

There are all sorts of discrete remote codes for Onkyo receivers including ones for Audyssey Dynamic Volume. There is one each for LIGHT, MEDIUM, HEAVY and OFF.
They are in the Harmony database.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 08:15 PM

Bootiful! Thanks!
Posted by: tomtuttle

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 08:44 PM

That's what I was trying to say on Wednesday. frown

I know, "trying to help" isn't the same as "helping".

And "helping" isn't the same as helping.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 09:37 PM

No, I knew someone else suggested it. I've just been too lazy to check myself. Sorry yo exclude you from thanks, Tom.
Posted by: tomtuttle

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 10:00 PM

No worries. Good luck!
Posted by: jakewash

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/01/13 10:25 PM

Get it programmed quick before Logitech sells Harmony, who knows what will happen when/if that happens.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/02/13 09:16 AM

Hmm. Is there a special way to access those codes? All I'm seeing in my Harmony setup is the standard set of buttons.

EDIT: Found some codes for older Onks on AVS. Sent them to Logitech. We'll see...
Posted by: tomtuttle

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/02/13 01:11 PM

Are you hip to the Remote Central website? I'd start there. But I have a URC, so I dont really need help.
Posted by: Dundas

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/02/13 01:20 PM

All Onkyo and Integra receivers use the same IR code-set. If Harmony do not have the Audyssey codes set up for your particular model try using a different one. Which Onkyo do you have?
Here are the codes in Pronto CCF format for a lot of different receivers:
http://www.awe-europe.com/ir_232.html
If you download the spreadsheet for your model you can see which codes it is capable of responding to.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/02/13 02:25 PM

I've got an TX-NR809, the codes I found were for the 607, I think.

Yeah, after looking at that sheet, I think I've got the right ones. I'll see if Harmony responds; I don't really want to deal with changing the receiver type if I don't have to.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 07:03 PM

Logitech support has informed me that since my remote is more than 90 days old, they won't help me. I've asked to speak to a manager, since that's f*&!ing ridiculous.
Posted by: onn

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 08:28 PM

Did they say why 90 days was the cutoff?
Did you get to talk to upper management?
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 08:35 PM

Haven't yet. I just got the email back today, and emailed them back. They said 90 days was the cutoff. Hello, Logitech, it's a cloud product. You can't give up cloud product support.
Posted by: Socketman

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 10:08 PM

If you had 2 harmony remotes you could put the codes on one and teach it to the other.Does the codes for the 607 work on your 809, you could add the 607 as a phantom device and map a button to its codes.
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 10:20 PM

Pity my other Harmony's USB port is dead.. but I like the idea! I may just try and switch the remote over to another Onkyo receiver to see if that one has it. After I yell at the support manager for awhile.
Posted by: Socketman

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 10:23 PM

I wish I had your problem , then i would have a good excuse to get the new harmony touch.
Posted by: jakewash

Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings - 03/03/13 10:36 PM

I wouldn't be getting any new Harmony products until any potential sale has gone through and the future support is shored up. I quite like the look/idea of the Roomie