YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-

Posted by: CooLJ92

YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 11:34 AM

Do you guys recommend using the YPAO (Yamaha Parametric Room Acoustic Optimizer)to calibrate my Axiom speakers? I thought I read somewhere not to initialize the YPAO because it will make the speakers sound horrible. Is this true? Should I just have my EQ set at the flat level? Any recommendation would be appreciated.

I currently have the Yamaha RXV 2400.

Thanks
Posted by: kapone

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 11:41 AM

Absolutely!, where di you hear that YPAO will screw up your sound? Yamaha obviously invested big moolah into designing YPAO, why would it not work? Whether it's as good as Pioneer's MCACC, Denon's Auto-EQ or others is pf cpurse subjective, and you results will vary.

Posted by: ringmir

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 12:15 PM

People have had good and bad luck with YPAO from what has been discussed on here. I would say use it, and if you don't like it, then just reset everything. Certainly won't hurt to try it.
Posted by: real80sman

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 12:23 PM

Cool, read this: http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=HT&Number=34951&Search=true&Forum=HT&Words=ypao%20&Match=Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=25&Old=allposts&Main=34824

and this: http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=ST&Number=37256&Search=true&Forum=All_Forums&Words=ypao&Match=Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=25&Old=1year&Main=37158

and lastly: http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=HT&Number=34973&page=&view=&sb=&o=

Posted by: kapone

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 12:36 PM

"Absolutely!, where di you hear that YPAO will screw up your sound? Yamaha obviously invested big moolah into designing YPAO, why would it not work? Whether it's as good as Pioneer's MCACC, Denon's Auto-EQ or others is pf cpurse subjective, and you results will vary. "

Dammit, I promise I can shpell!
Posted by: bigjohn

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 12:40 PM

arw yoi shure??

and just for official thread reference, i have no experince with YPAO. i have seen YAO MING play basketball.. maybe he can calibrate for you??

bigjohn
Posted by: mwc

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 12:46 PM

In reply to:

I thought I read somewhere not to initialize the YPAO because it will make the speakers sound horrible.



What sounds "horrible" to one person may sound great to another. One has to wonder if those who are saying such thing have actually listened for themselves. I would suggest that you try it both ways and then decide for yourself what sounds good to you. I personally found the auto EQ features (found on the Denon, Yamaha and Pioneer) to be very useful and I actually have expeirence with all three.
Posted by: mwc

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 02:45 PM

In reply to:

where di you hear that YPAO will screw up your sound?



You can see that procalimation right here on the Axiom web site in one of thier newsletters and in some posts on these forums.
Posted by: kapone

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 02:50 PM

Hmm..I stand corrected..
Posted by: mwc

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 03:01 PM

In reply to:

I stand corrected



But does it change your mind about the YPAO feature? Just curious.
Posted by: kapone

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 03:27 PM

Well, I just bought a Denon 3805, not the Yamaha, BUT my buddy has the 1400 and we played with his set for a lil while before, In my opinion (keyword .. mine, remember a lot of these things are subjective) the YPAO did an outstanding job of setting up his sound and level parameters.

So, have I changed my opinion, No, I may just get a Yammy from the local Tweeter and try it to see how it sounds with my speakers and check out the YPAO.
Posted by: mac60

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/13/04 05:47 PM

I used it in the beggining but ended up doing everything manually. I like the way I set it up way better. Just the PEQ vs GEQ makes a huge difference in sound.

Set it up with YPAO and then start experimenting. You'll do plenty of that!
Posted by: JohnK

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/14/04 01:09 AM

Jose, definitely use YPAO. I'd suggest setting it to skip the speaker size and crossover frequency adjustments and instead manually setting those to the THX recommendation of all speakers "small" and a 80Hz crossover. Another point I've found is that it may give better results(although this might not apply to your listening room)to set the equalization to give preference in adjustments to the "low" area, rather than "flat", which tends to use its limited equalization assets over the entire frequency range equally.
Posted by: CooLJ92

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/14/04 11:40 AM

Kapone,
The threats that real80sman lists are the ones I was reffering too.

Thanks for all of your suggestions.
Posted by: real80sman

Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms- - 05/15/04 07:25 AM

Cool - no threats. You said that "you read somewhere" - I just refreshed your memory as to where you read it.

I have absolutely no experience with ypao (or the like) as I am a 2.1ch guy. So I can neither condemn or endorse such features.

In the future, I am looking to upgrade to a 6.1 system and for movies, it may prove usefull. Actually, it would be fun to play around with the settings and see (hear) how things change.

For music though, I am a firm beleiver of "true direct". Bypass as much switching, tone controls, and gagetry as possible.