Axiom Home Page
Posted By: littlejohn budget receiver ,, - 07/09/10 03:09 PM
greetings ,
i have the wallmount m22's ordered .
what would be a half decent receiver to drive them?
id like to be able to play mp3's on it .
maybe 5.1 would be surfice?
be advised that im fairly new to all this .
my budget would be $500.00 canadian , or less .
i live in newfoundland canada .
thanks for your time .
cheers .
Posted By: CatBrat Re: budget receiver ,, - 07/09/10 03:24 PM
Since I'm a Pioneer guy, I'd recommend the Pioneer vsx-1019ah-k. It retails for 500, but you could probably find it cheaper if you check around.

Another idea is to Google for "refurbished receivers". I get a lot of ideas for receivers when I do this. The most popular receivers seem to be (in this order) Denon, Onkyo, Marantz, Pioneer. There are others, but not a lot of mention, such as Yamaha. Some people say that the refurbished units are actually better than the new ones.

As far as sound quality, IMO I think weight has a lot to say about the power supply, but this might not apply much in the 500 and under quality of receivers.
Posted By: tomtuttle Re: budget receiver ,, - 07/09/10 04:33 PM
Onkyo refurbs are usually an excellent value either at ShopOnkyo.com or accessories4less.com.

When you say "play MP3's" - what will you use for a player (computer, iPod, etc.)? I'm not sure you can get a network-ready receiver for that price, but any receiver should be able to accommodate a MP3 source device (some more elegantly than others).
Posted By: littlejohn Re: budget receiver ,, - 07/09/10 04:38 PM
Originally Posted By: tomtuttle
Onkyo refurbs are usually an excellent value either at ShopOnkyo.com or accessories4less.com.

When you say "play MP3's" - what will you use for a player (computer, iPod, etc.)? I'm not sure you can get a network-ready receiver for that price, but any receiver should be able to accommodate a MP3 source device (some more elegantly than others).