Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Nitsud Help a newbie with deciding m60s m80s - 05/08/11 06:04 PM
Im new to home theatre and have boiled down to axiom being my choice of setup. Either going m60s with vp150 and qs8 or m80s with vp180 and qs8. Help in deciding.

Further help is I was going to buy an integra dtr 20.3 receiver any information if this will run either system?

I will not be getting a sub right now but when i do it will be either svs or a hsu (not sure of size yet)

Setup will be in a four level split on the main floor 26'Lx16'Wx9'H

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance
Posted By: ClubNeon Re: Help a newbie with deciding m60s m80s - 05/08/11 06:10 PM
If you've got the coin, why not go all out? The owners of the VP180 who upgraded from the 150 all seem to agree that it's well worth it. The M80s over M60s also seem to be an improvement, but not quite as large. So at least consider the VP180 no matter what mains you go with.

That Integra should be fine.
Posted By: Nitsud Re: Help a newbie with deciding m60s m80s - 05/08/11 06:33 PM
The m80s state they are 4ohm while most receivers run 6-8ohm is that a problem? This integra dtr-20.3 is 8ohm?

I am buying this in pieces right now the receiver and towers then the center and surrounds later.

I certainly want the m80s aslong as that integra receiver will handle them and not cause any problems. Can get the receiver at a disount price of $650 brand new in the box.
Posted By: Wid Re: Help a newbie with deciding m60s m80s - 05/08/11 07:06 PM

Seems it's rated for 4 ohm.

AMPLIFIER SECTION
Power Output
All Channels: 90 W/Ch at 8 Ohms,
20 Hz–20 kHz, 0.08%,
2 Channels Driven, FTC;
110 W/Ch at 6 Ohms,
1 kHz, 0.1%, 2 Channels Driven, FTC
Dynamic Power 210 W (3 Ohms, 1 ch)
180 W (4 Ohms, 1 ch)
110 W (8 Ohms, 1 ch)
Posted By: Nitsud Re: Help a newbie with deciding m60s m80s - 05/08/11 07:15 PM