Axiom Home Page
Posted By: gearcruncher Looking for pre/pro all channels driven - 09/02/12 09:19 PM
Does anyone have pictures how to wire the back of the reciever using pre amps . Ive been looking for wiring schematics using google but nothing much comes up .Not many images show how a pre amp is connected to the receiver and then to the speakers
thinking about a new receiver but would like to make sure it has all the quality connections . I am new to pre amps , thus the question
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Looking for pre/pro all channels driven - 09/02/12 09:20 PM
Are you talking about using the receiver AS a preamp, or using the receiver as an amp with a pre-amp?

The second would be extraordinarily uncommon, while the first is pretty typical.

If it's the first, simply hook the pre-outs on the receiver to the amplifier and the amplifier to the speakers.

If the second, well, maybe you should reconsider.
using the reciever as a pre amp . There arent many pictures showing the wiring configuration out there .
Lets say I wanted 7.1 or 11.1 surround amplified .
Do many receivers have the capability of pre- amping all 7 or 11 channels ?
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Looking for pre/pro all channels driven - 09/02/12 09:48 PM
The higher end ones do. Just look for "pre-outs" as a feature.
Posted By: dakkon Re: Looking for pre/pro all channels driven - 09/02/12 09:56 PM
http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-s...Receiver/1.html

Here is an Okyo that has 9.2 channel pre-outs.
My yammy 5063 with 90/per channel doesnt have the punch I want and its not pre amp capable . I am willing to go the extra mile with my next receiver as long as its got the pre amp connections I want .I listen to music with all 7 channels driven .I prefer 11.1 . This way I have room for upgrades in the home theatre as I progress .
With Axiom,s natural sound , am I looking at high end Denon ,Onkyo or possibly Marantz ,pioneer ?
Got any recomendations ?