QS 8 Power bracket

Posted by: VeXeD

QS 8 Power bracket - 05/01/13 09:03 PM

It seems you would get a better connection not using the power bracket for the speaker wire but as a mount only. Anyone use them with the speaker wire clamped in and left them that way?
Posted by: pmbuko

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/01/13 11:14 PM

Are your QS8s not getting a good signal?
Posted by: CV

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/01/13 11:21 PM

I've been using the power brackets on my two rear QS8s, and they've worked just fine.
Posted by: brwsaw

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/01/13 11:58 PM

Its safe to assume they no longer have 5 way binding posts?
Posted by: nickbuol

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/02/13 12:49 AM

The photos on the product page show the following:



I also confirmed this with my V3 QS8s.

So you have the bracket with the built in audio connections (which I am using with my two V3 QS8s) but you can also use the binding posts just like before (which I do for my two V2 QS8s).

Despite the difference connections, I have no issues with one over the other. The bracket is snug enough that it makes a solid connection.
Posted by: CatBrat

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/02/13 10:28 AM

I have 3 QS8's mounted with the speaker wire connected to the mounting bracket. It takes a bit of work and patience to get a good connection where all of the speaker wire is inside the clamp. That's one design I'd like to see improved somehow. With a single strand wire, it wouldn't be an issue. But, with the 12 gauge multi stand wire, it can be a bit of a challenge.

Slightly longer screws might help, because now when you unscrew them to make the gap to put the wire in, sometimes the screws come all the way out, then you have to take the time to re-insert the screw. (This can cause some expletives to escape your upper orifice, if your're not careful.)
Posted by: Stilljoe

Re: QS 8 Power bracket - 05/04/13 11:08 PM

I talked to Ian about the power brackets when I visited last year. I have QS4s and on-wall M3s, not sure if QS8s are different. I found that i was trying to tighten the clamp on a very short (1/4 inch or less) section of multistrand wire (14 gauge, I think) and the wire slipped out as I tightened - several times and yes, expletives followed. I ended up drilling a deeper recess in the bracket to allow a good 1/2 inch of stripped wire under the clamp. Much easier!
I have no concerns about the quality of the connection.