Axiom Home Page
Posted By: donaldekelly High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 04:45 AM
This is probably a real newbie type question - but I am new to hi-def TV. I have recorded some HD shows and when watching them later on - they definitely don't seem to be in high definition. Latest example is the PBS series on India.

Is Hi-Def lost when recorded? My TV (Insignia) and cable provider (Comcast) seem to provide reasonably good HD when an HD show is watched "live" (when broadcast) - but I haven't compared the same show live and recorded.

We plan to switch to Verizon FIOS TV service soon, but the question remains.

Thanks
Posted By: Brandon_G Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 05:27 AM
hmmmm thats interesting , i have no answer for u but still interested hahaha.
Posted By: nickbuol Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 05:40 AM
What DVR are you using to record them?

Our Dish DVR (ViP 722) records in HD, and plays back in HD. It looks just like the HD broadcast when I play it back.
Posted By: donaldekelly Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 06:16 AM
comcast dvr
Posted By: nickbuol Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 06:24 AM
I figured that, but which model. There seems to be more than one when Google searching....
Posted By: HomeDad Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 08:36 AM
Same with my Directv HD DVR, the shows look exactly the same as watching HD TV. Is it possible your DVR is not HD, it should say on the DVR itself if it's HD or not, Comcast provides both SD and HD DVRs. A brand and model# will clear up that part of the issue.
Also you might run a search on the AVS forum about Comcast, seems that they have a lot of problems with their boxes as well as their HD programming.
Posted By: RickF Re: High Def on a DVR? - 02/01/09 10:19 AM