EP500 will not power up

Posted by: stevej

EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 10:52 PM

My EP500 quit working tonight. It will not power up. Is there a fuse inside that could have blown? Could not find anything using the search on the forum.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:10 PM

First have you tried unplugging it from the wall outlet for 5 min or so, then plugging it back in? If that does not work, I do believe there is a fuse that can be replaced on the back.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:12 PM

I tried that. I assume the back has to be removed to get to any fuses. Can't find any fuse holders on the back.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:19 PM

Zak's thread a few down from yours has these pics, I assume you have the newer amp design on the left? The older design had slow blow fuses which could be removed. The Axiom techs go home at 11pm eastern, so you might have to call them tomorrow..


Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:27 PM

Mine looks more like the one on the right. But does not have what looks like 3 fuse holders just above and to the left of the power switch. I tried calling Axiom around 10 but no one was available. Will try tomorrow. Need to get to bed now. Will post tomorrow if I get it resolved.
Thanks
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:31 PM

Hope you get it figured out Steve...Randy
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/11/11 11:32 PM

Thanks. Will post the result as soon as I talk to someone tomorrow.
Posted by: dakkon

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 01:55 AM

if your amp is a version one like mine, the fuses are below the power switch, right below where the power cord plugs in. there are 2 3amp slow blow fuses in a small cartridge, you will need a flat head or something of the sort to pop the cartridge out. if you look very closely at the photo of the amp on the right, you can see a black box looking area below the power plugs, that is the area i am referring to..

JC had to tell me where the fuses were for my amp, i had no clue either....
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 07:20 PM

dakkon Thanks for the info. Just got home and checked it. Would not have known to look there. The fuse is blown. Also talked to Brent. He said it does happen once in a while. So need to go get one. Thanks for the replies everyone. Sirquack I should be up and running later tonight. Have to head in to town and find the fuse.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 08:52 PM

Well I put a new fuse in and it will power up now but no sound. And when I first turned it on it was humming pretty loud and make a crackling sound. No sound from the sub. So I called and talked to Brent again and he had me send a pic of the amp so he can see which one it is. He will get back with me tomorrow. Will let you all know what the verdict is. It is really great to have someone this late in the evening that will help you out. Thanks Brent and Axiom. You will not find many companies that would have tech support as late as 11:00pm.
Posted by: BlueJays1

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 08:57 PM

You will probably end up getting a replacement amp. The humming, crackling and blowing of fuses you are experiencing you will not be able to fix on your end.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 09:08 PM

That is what I thought also. Especially after reading the thread by Zak. I thought the fuse would take care of mine. Didn't have any burning smell. At least it is under 2 years old so still have the warranty.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/12/11 11:12 PM

Interesting they need a pic versus serial# which usually tells them the mfg date. Anyway they should make it right if it is under warranty...Randy
Posted by: dakkon

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/13/11 12:19 AM

steve, my ep-600 version 1 amp just started blowing fuses... it blew 2 fuses and now i have an "amp box" on the way.. did you check to see if you happened to blow the fuse again? mine is now blowing fuses on power up... did you re-check your fuses, to verify that your amp did not blow another fuse?

Good luck.

sirquack, he could have bought his sub in a transition period switching from one version of the amp to another maybe?
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/13/11 05:31 PM

When I turn on the power the light comes on. So it appears it is getting power now. I got an email from Brent and the tech guys won't be in until Monday. So he will let me know next week about the amp. I have the M80s so I can still enjoy music without the sub for the next few days. Just miss it if we would watch a movie.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/13/11 11:01 PM

no kidding man, that sucks. I was watching Tron the other night with my boys, and the bass was intense.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 11:17 AM

I was reading the thread on the guy that had the problems with his M80s and the Onkyo. He ordered the QSC and didn't think the M80s had enough bass. Anyway, I think for just music they are pretty impresive. I have some music that I think the sub adds some bass. But for the most part I can still enjoy the M80s without. But like you said, the sub really makes watching movies so much more fun. I have friends that are really amazed when there are some good scenes that make the room shake.
Will let you know what the outcome is. I know they are going to take care of it. Just need to match up the amp.
Posted by: Ichigo_Kurosaki

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 12:17 PM

Well I used to believe that my M22's lacked bass, but after hooking them up on my recently bought vintage amp; can say that am more than satisfied with my purchase now. Maybe my Denon 3310 does not have much power to handle the speakers properly. The sound is so good that if my system were just for music I would skip buying a sub. smile Now my Axioms can be properly enjoyed.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 02:55 PM

I also have a set of M22s for my living room. Just for stereo and listening to the tv for better sound. Just received them last Monday. I am using a pioneer VSX 915 for the living room. The 22s didn't sound all that great with that receiver. I took them down to the basement and tried them on the Onkyo 3007. Wow, what a difference. Must be something not right on the Pioneer. It is suppose to be 100w and that should be more than enough. But when turning them up to moderately high level they sound horrible. Like you said though, with the Onkyo I was really suprised at the bass that came from those little speakers.
Posted by: CatBrat

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 06:53 PM

I'd be interested on what happens now, if you swap receivers, and leave the speakers where they are.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 08:17 PM

I don't think I will try that. I would have to undo the whole system down there. When I say they sound horrible it is not because of the room. They start distorting really bad at moderately high sound with the Pioneer. So I assume it would be the receiver? I can really crank them up with the Onkyo with no distortion. So I guess maybe the Pioneer starts clipping.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 09:32 PM

Steve, yes it would appear that the Pioneer has developed a defect. While there would be several reasons to prefer the Onkyo in my view, the maximum power capacity is just slightly higher and certainly wouldn't explain the difference which you've described if the Pioneer was in good operating condition.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 10:00 PM

Yes that is what I am thinking. The Pioneer is suppose to be 100w and the Onkyo 140. But I can live with it for now. I don't need to listen at that high of volumn in my living room. I should have explained the horrible sound in the earlier post as distortion instead of anything that would have to do with different room accoustics. But I tell you they really do put out a lot of sound with the Onkyo for such a small speaker. I wanted to listen to them with my sub but as you can see in this thread it is not working. Anxious to see how they compare in sound with the M80s when I get the sub working.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 10:11 PM

Those 100 and 140 watt ratings have to be accurate under FTC amplifier power regulations, but the difference between 100 watts and 140 watts is only about 1.46dB in maximum sound level(e.g., being able to play a brief split-second peak at 105dB or 106.46dB). So again, that isn't the problem.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 10:24 PM

Yes I agree. The difference between the two should not make that much difference. So obviously the Pioneer has a problem.
Posted by: Ichigo_Kurosaki

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 10:36 PM

So that would mean that my Denon also have a problem? On my case there is no distortion at all on the sound but there is a huge difference on bass and soundstage between the two amps. Also my vintage amp is only 30 watt.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 10:43 PM

What do they sound like with your Denon?
Posted by: Ichigo_Kurosaki

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 11:00 PM

Will post the answer on another post.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 11:11 PM

Ichigo, of course it's not possible to make a precise analysis at long range, but some comments are appropriate. First, the amplification process has no ability to affect "soundstage" as long as the channels are separated by an amount which any modern amplifier far exceeds. Secondly, if the amplifier has flat response down to 20Hz, which any receiver of the quality which we'd seriously consider does easily, it reproduces bass well. Bass is no different in this respect from any other frequency range: at a given sound level 40Hz requires the same amount of power as does 400Hz or 4000Hz. If the sound level isn't precisely identical when comparing two units however(proper blind tests require matching to within 0.1dB), then items such as sound-stage and bass will sound different, not because of some mysterious quality superiority, but simply because one is being played a little louder. Casual listening not under controlled blind conditions can easily mislead us and can't be relied upon to make judgments. Louder usually sounds better.

Since it summarizes the point well, I'll again cite the editor of the Audio Critic in "Electronic Signal Paths Do Not Have a Personality!" for a brief explanation.
Posted by: Ichigo_Kurosaki

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/14/11 11:19 PM

Originally Posted By: JohnK
Ichigo, of course it's not possible to make a precise analysis at long range, but some comments are appropriate. First, the amplification process has no ability to affect "soundstage" as long as the channels are separated by an amount which any modern amplifier far exceeds. Secondly, if the amplifier has flat response down to 20Hz, which any receiver of the quality which we'd seriously consider does easily, it reproduces bass well. Bass is no different in this respect from any other frequency range: at a given sound level 40Hz requires the same amount of power as does 400Hz or 4000Hz. If the sound level isn't precisely identical when comparing two units however(proper blind tests require matching to within 0.1dB), then items such as sound-stage and bass will sound different, not because of some mysterious quality superiority, but simply because one is being played a little louder. Casual listening not under controlled blind conditions can easily mislead us and can't be relied upon to make judgments. Louder usually sounds better.

Since it summarizes the point well, I'll again cite the editor of the Audio Critic in "Electronic Signal Paths Do Not Have a Personality!" for a brief explanation.


Well I guess that my Denon might be defective then because even on low volumes the ammount of air coming out the M22's are different between them. The difference is absurd. As some of you might recall right after hooking up the speakers I made a post where the lack of bass was cited. Well, but what really matters now is that I am definitely loving my speakers now. While before I could say I liked them. smile Thanks for the clarification!
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/16/11 10:22 PM

Still waiting about the amp problem. I emailed Brent again today to see what the techs said, but have not heard anything. Will update when I hear something.
Posted by: Jc

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 10:13 AM

Hi,
Brent took a few days off and he will be back tomorrow. I'm sure that you hear back from him then.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 10:17 AM

Thanks JC.
Posted by: MarkSJohnson

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 10:33 AM

Originally Posted By: Jc
Hi,Brent took a few days off

During zombie awareness month? A coincidence?





I think not.
Posted by: BobKay

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 11:05 AM

It was more likely that "other" May celebration thing.
Posted by: Murph

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 11:43 AM

My Birthday?
Posted by: Da_Gimp_Pimp

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 12:49 PM

Originally Posted By: Murph
My Birthday?


Question is- did you dress up as a zombie and masturbate on your birthday. A 3 in 1 package deal to get-er-done, right thar.
Posted by: Murph

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 01:35 PM

2 out of three. I let everyone decide for themselves which two.
Posted by: Da_Gimp_Pimp

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/17/11 05:53 PM

laugh laugh
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/20/11 09:16 PM

Got am email today. Amp has been shipped. Hope I have a better result than Zak did. Will let you all know when I get it and have it installed.
Posted by: Murph

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/26/11 02:10 PM

Good Luck!
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/27/11 10:34 PM

Received the amp. It does not hook up with the 1/4 sub cable. It needs an xlr to 1/4 adapter that was suppose to be with the amp. Called and JC sent one right out. But I have the amp in and just waiting for the adapter. Tried to get one at the local radio shack but they didn't have one.
The new amp is much lighter than the old one. Not sure what that means.
So should be able to hook it up by the middle of next week.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/28/11 03:09 PM

that sucks it didn't come with the adapter, hope they next day air you one so you can enjoy the amp. I wish they would have stayed with the regular RCA hookup, which is standard.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/28/11 08:49 PM

Yeah that is what I thought about the change in hookup. But I am sure that had a reason for it. The tracking showed it was on the FEDEX truck for delivery today, but it didn't make it. So I will have to wait until Tuesday now. Will let you know when I get it and try it out.
Posted by: obsi

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/29/11 12:58 AM

Originally Posted By: stevej
Received the amp. It does not hook up with the 1/4 sub cable. It needs an xlr to 1/4 adapter that was suppose to be with the amp. Called and JC sent one right out. But I have the amp in and just waiting for the adapter. Tried to get one at the local radio shack but they didn't have one.
The new amp is much lighter than the old one. Not sure what that means.
So should be able to hook it up by the middle of next week.


Some of the reasons why I prefer the V2, no need for a phono adapter, trim control, heavy (vogue wink ) torroidal power supply, and it's amp plate somehow looks a lot more elegant. Hope yours gets sorted out, please keep us updated on your findings on the V2 vs V3 amp.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 08:43 PM

Received the adapter today and hooked it up. No sound at all from the sub. I have a call in to Axiom. Waiting for the return call. Will let you all know what the verdict is.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 09:27 PM

frown
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 09:37 PM

Ouch, Steve. One thing you might try, even though the previous problem didn't appear to have anything to do with the line level input, is to disconnect one of the main speaker wires and connect it to one set of the high level inputs.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 09:50 PM

Hi John. Just finished that. Brent recommended the same thing. Still nothing. Took the woofer out and made sure all connections are good. Left it out and tried again. The woofer doesn't move at all. Anyway, Brent is checking with the engineers in the morning and will get back with me. Will let you know what the outcome is. At least it is still under warranty and Axiom is willing to make sure it is taken care of.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 10:21 PM

Steve, if you mean that you also connected the speaker wire directly to the driver after you took it out, and got no movement, that would indicate that the voice coil is burned out.
Posted by: Zak

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 10:48 PM

Originally Posted By: stevej
Received the adapter today and hooked it up. No sound at all from the sub. I have a call in to Axiom. Waiting for the return call. Will let you all know what the verdict is.


This sounds almost identical to the issues I've been having.
My poor EP500! Is it dead?
I received my new woofer today but I haven't installed it yet.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 10:54 PM

Hopefully it is a pattern that gets nipped in the butt! smile
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 11:31 PM

Originally Posted By: JohnK
Steve, if you mean that you also connected the speaker wire directly to the driver after you took it out, and got no movement, that would indicate that the voice coil is burned out.


I didn't do that. Just took the woofer out and checked to make sure the wiring was all ok from the amp. Also hooked up the high side on the back of the amp to my avr and no sound.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 11:34 PM

Zak I have been watching your thread also and thought the same thing. Just seems weird that the amp and woofer would both go bad at the same time. Unless something with one caused the problem with the other.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 05/31/11 11:58 PM

If everything is still opened up, you might try disconnecting the sub amp connection and directly connecting the speaker wire to the driver. Or, if you've reconnected the main speaker, you can connect a battery intermittently across the terminals to see if the cone moves.
Posted by: stevej

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/01/11 11:14 AM

Ok all you guys that have been watching this. I got a call from Brent this morning. I told him I took the woofer out and checked the wiring and everything was good there. He asked me if I had it hooked up according to the diagram he had sent. I said yes. But then I thought about it and asked him if I should reverse the way I had it hooked up. For those not familiar with the wiring, on the V2 amp it had one set coming off the amp and then split and one set to one side of the woofer and the other to the other side. On the new amp it has 2 sets coming off the amp and one set going to one side of the woofer and the other set going to the other. I reversed the way I had it hooked up and it now works just fine.
So will have to blame this one on operator headspace on my part. But thanks to Brent for working with me and getting it worked out.
And thanks to all of you for the suggestions. Happy again and didn't think I would miss the sub as much as I did since the M80s have so much bass. But once you get use to the sound it sure does make a difference.
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/01/11 09:26 PM

Very good, Steve; enjoy.
Posted by: 2x6spds

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/02/11 02:05 AM

I wandered around this site looking for information on Axiom's warranty. Couldn't find it.

What is the warranty on the EP subs?
Posted by: CV

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/02/11 02:50 AM

Warranty
Posted by: Jc

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/02/11 10:50 AM

Originally Posted By: 2x6spds
What is the warranty on the EP subs?

Hi, the warranty on the Axiom EP subwoofers increased from three (3) to five (5) years in May of 2007.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP500 will not power up - 06/02/11 11:33 AM

I wonder if people were grandfathered in who previously had a 3 year?