EP500 AC power

Posted by: Boltron

EP500 AC power - 09/01/13 12:36 PM

Anyone know if it OK to connect the EP500 to a switched AC power outlet? By this I mean when I switch off the home theater, the AC will be cut off from the EP500 and switched back on when I turn on again.
Posted by: chesseroo

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/01/13 10:05 PM

why not?
lights on, lights off

saving electricity actually means turning off units from their standby state to electricity off state

save us from some mercury poisoning by all means
Posted by: alan

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/02/13 08:45 AM

Hi Boltron,

You should be fine so long as the switched power outlet doesn't have a circuit-breaker built into it whose capacity might be exceeded by the current draw of the EP500.

We used to advise EP500 owners not to connect their EP500's to any sort of power conditioner or current-limiting device and that advice still applies; in other words, to connect it directly to a wall outlet.
I turn my own EP500 on and off every time I use it -- inconvenient, I know, but it bugs me that power is being consumed when I'm not using it.

Regards,
Alan
Posted by: Ken.C

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/02/13 08:54 AM

I really need to try rigging up my trigger on my 350 again. It is pretty ridiculous to have it sitting there gulping power.

Nevermind, I have no way to do this from the TX-NR809. Pisser.
Posted by: exlabdriver

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/02/13 12:39 PM

I manually turn off my twin EP400s when not in use.

It is a bit of a ritual - Turn Off the SACD Player with the remote (it actually goes into a Standby Mode); walk over to my Tube Amp & turn its Volume down to Min; walk over to my EP400s (along another wall) & turn them each Off; & finally return over to the Tube Amp & Turn it Off.

I'm retired so I have lots of time plus it provides me some exercise, ha!

TAM
Posted by: alan

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/02/13 02:03 PM

I understand totally. Just lifting a remote control is not sufficient exercise!

I have to rise up from the couch to turn off my power amp as well.

Cheers,
Alan
Posted by: Boltron

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/02/13 03:52 PM

OK thanks. For those lazy folks like me who don't want to get up and WALK to the speaker and turn it off manually...

I have found an awesome green power strip by Belkin. It has a master plug which when the device plugged into it turns off the other plugs on the strip are powered off.

I'm sure we have all seen these before but what makes this one special is that it has a short delay (3-5 secs) before turning off/on. This for me is important because I plug my HTPC into it and when I press my remote power off button, Windows gets the notice and does a shutdown. I use an SSD so it's quick. Windows has enough time to shut down cleanly every time before the Belkin powers off the outlets. I also use it to switch my Darbee, bias light and now the EP500.

I use my Denon to control the master plug so when it comes on so does everything else. I configured my HTPC to power on when AC is plugged in so Windows does a clean boot a few seconds after the TV and Denon are on and all my HDMI handshakes work perfectly. I had to use a special device to handle this before.

I've tried other green power strips but they switch power of/off with the master (i.e. no delay) and this was a problem.
Posted by: fredk

Re: EP500 AC power - 09/04/13 07:27 PM

Originally Posted By: Ken.C
I really need to try rigging up my trigger on my 350 again. It is pretty ridiculous to have it sitting there gulping power.

Nevermind, I have no way to do this from the TX-NR809. Pisser.

Shoulda bought a Denon. As a bonus you would have gotten their awesome user manual. smile