EP-350 Stuck in Standby

Posted by: Mike_B

EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/26/13 06:24 PM

My EP-350 sub has the red standby light on, so I know it's getting power, but it won't go active/green and won't make a sound. I tried flipping the auto on/off switch to "Active" but it still won't wake up.

Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks!
Mike_B
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/26/13 06:42 PM

so your applying a signal to it like a music/movie and it won't turn green once it receives a low frequency signal? Has it ever worked and just stopped? Do you have the receiver setup to send low freq to the sub?

sorry for the simple questions..
Posted by: JohnK

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/26/13 11:26 PM

Mike, Randy's questions are relevant, but in the meantime I'll suggest that you might connect a speaker wire to a high level input to check if the sub cable or the line level input is faulty.
Posted by: Mike_B

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/27/13 11:43 PM

I appreciate the replies. Here's some more detail and what I've tried so far...

Friends came over for movie night and the sub sits right below my screen so I always notice the green light pop on as things are powering on, but not so this night. I checked the receiver first because once I had it not "see" the subwoofer and stop sending the line out to the sub (there's a little icon labeled sub on the front of the receiver and it was not lit.) But that was easily remedied by going into the manual setup and re-enabling the sub. Last night the sub light was lit on the receiver and when I turned on the test tones, it appears to send to the subwoofer channel, but no sound comes out of the sub and the active/standby light on the EP-350 stays red.

After checking the receiver, I tried a new cable and also flipping the auto on/off switch to "Activate". No luck, so I tried running a line out from my iPhone to the line in on the sub to see if the sub port on the receiver was bad. Still wouldn't activate.

I checked the knobs on the back of the 350 and they all looked like they were set correctly. Tried unplugging power for a few hours and switching the phase back and forth. No go.

I found a couple other posts similar to mine and it sounds like I need to speak to customer service and do some troubleshooting. I'm still within the warranty period so I'm sure they'll take good care of me.

I will say that I have always had the Axioms setup as 5.1 and had never heard my setup in 5.0 mode and I was blown away by how well the system handled Pacific Rim without the sub. The M-22's have some real punch when run in large mode.

MB
Posted by: Mike_B

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/27/13 11:44 PM

I'll try the high level input. That's a good idea. Thanks.
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/28/13 05:44 PM

does your 350 have two rca inputs, for daising another sub in the line? have you tried the other connection? sounds like you've checked the receiver setup menus. any chance the sub cable was moved and plugged into a different jack on the receiver, normally it is sub out or LFE out.
Posted by: Mike_B

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/29/13 02:10 PM

Yeah, it has line in and line out. I tried both. I also tried the Subwoofer 2 output on the receiver. I spoke to Axiom support and they are sending a replacement amp for the 350.

MB
Posted by: SirQuack

Re: EP-350 Stuck in Standby - 10/29/13 09:39 PM

just curious if you tried the high level posts and did that make a difference? Good to hear Axiom is taking care of you..