Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Audiobob how to connect optical toslink cable? - 09/27/03 02:17 AM
ok, ok I'm a newbie but just got a DVD player and want to connect it to my receiver with an optical tsolink cable. What's the trick...I don't want to damage this expensive cable so I'm asking is there a trick or do you just shove the connector in?
On the tiny male end of the cable there will be a small rubber cover. Its hard to tell its even there and its sometimes hard to pull off (I use my fingernails). Then, you'll pull out the plug from the female port on the DVD player.

Be sure to keep both the plug and cover in case you need to put them back (you don't want dust or smudges on the ends or ports).

You'll have to orient the plug to the port based on its shape. Then, just push it in. Oddly, it probably will not feel all that secure (i.e. it will pull out easily if you are't careful so don't tug on it too much afterwards), at least not as secure as a RCA or Coax type plug.

Posted By: Audiobob Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 09/27/03 02:58 AM
Wow, now you're a hero! I never would have seen the clear plastic covers! Thanks much.
Posted By: reid54 Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 10/01/03 11:23 PM
I'm curious. I have both hookups options available but went with the upgraded (more expensive) monster cables not the optical. Is there a noticible difference between the two?
Posted By: sushi Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 10/01/03 11:25 PM
The price.
Posted By: Semi_On Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 10/02/03 01:04 AM
They're both digital connections. So long as a one and a zero don't look like one another and the timing doesn't get screwed up, there shouldn't be a difference.
Posted By: pmbuko Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 10/02/03 01:20 AM
But what about digital jitter??
Posted By: Semi_On Re: how to connect optical toslink cable? - 10/02/03 02:46 AM