Axiom Home Page
Posted By: seank Should speaker cable length be equal? - 12/06/03 08:02 PM
I just received my Axioms (M22tis, VP150, QS8s) and my HT receiver (Harman Kardon AVR630). I am waiting for my HSU STF-2 sub to ship.

I have a long length of 12 gauge speaker wire and I am ready to cut into segments and set everything up. My question is does it matter if each speaker has a different length speaker wire?

Is there any reason to make sure speakers have the same length? If so, does that apply to all speakers, including surrounds, or just mains and center?

I know that in theory they should be same length, but if they are all under, say, 50 feet does it really matter?

Thanks for any advice. I am a total newbie to home theaters and I am doing my best to learn as I go.

-Sean
Posted By: DJ_Stunna Re: Should speaker cable length be equal? - 12/06/03 08:18 PM
I doubt it matters, especially because you have 12 AWG cable...

That being said, I always make sure the lengths are equal - yes, I'm paranoid.
Do you mean if the wire to your surrounds is 45 feet then you also make the wire to your center 45 feet?

or do you mean that the two fronts are of equal length and the two surrounds are different length but equal to each other

did that make sense?

Am I wrong in thinking that the differences in length would have to be enormous before they made an audible difference?

Posted By: Haoleb Re: Should speaker cable length be equal? - 12/06/03 09:41 PM
I dont wanna sound like i know what im talking about when i dont for sure. but i remember reading somewhere that generally its a good idea to keep them the same when possible. not so much as keeping the center the same lenth as the rears. obviosly not. you want the shortest possible. but if it means making one of the front speakers 10 feet long and the other 15 id probbly make em both 15.
Posted By: willscary Re: Should speaker cable length be equal? - 12/06/03 09:55 PM