Rate Thread
New to HT and Axiom
#313 10/07/01 11:56 PM
Cueball Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
Hello,

I am new to the HT scene and so far, based on the testimonials of everyone here and reviews on other sites, I am very impressed with what I see with Axiom speakers. I am not an expert on home audio but I am truly a fan of high fidelity and know at least what good sound should sound like. I used to be involved in the car audio scene and I have a taste for refined sound. My question is, based on the size of my room and the type of music/movies I like to listen/watch, which HT set-up would be ideal for my apartment.

Living Room Measurements: 12' x 17' x 71/7'

My entertainment center is located in front of the 12' wall, which leaves me 17" for my couch/chairs. One problem I have is that the back wall opens up halfway into my dining room area. My sliding glass door is located on the left 17' wall. This causes a problem for rear speaker placement. I will take a picture and post in the future the layout. I would appreciate any suggestions as far as placement for my speakers.

I listen to all types of music ranging from classical/jazz to hard rock/grunge. I love watching movies, especially action/adventure films.

My future system componants are as follows:

Toshiba 32A50 TV
Toshiba SD4700 Progressive Scan DVD (Prog for future HDTV upgrade)
Sony 4 Head HiFi VCR
Outlaw Audio 1050 6.1 RECEIVER (future purchase)

Based on the above information. What size of drivers would you recommend for a modest size room such as mine. Thaniks for your input!

Chris Alderman

"You learn more from making mistakes than trying to avoid making them."

Re: New to HT and Axiom
#314 10/09/01 12:31 PM
A
old hand
old hand
A
Hi Chris;

Welcome to Axiom! I think the Epic Grand Master would be the perfect pick for your size room and movie/music preferences. The Grand Master plays a little louder and lower than the Master, which will complement your action/adventure movies very well.