Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog
Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
3 registered (dakkon, BobKay, Serenity_Now), 51 Guests and 9 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,367 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,132 Topics
409,123 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17880
pmbuko 16335
SirQuack 13356
CV 11436
MarkSJohnson 11103
Meanwhile On Facebook
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10941 - 05/15/03 05:59 PM what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
rcvecc Offline
aficionado

Registered: 04/17/03
Posts: 608
Loc: east haven ct
I noticed that when wiring posts pop up,there are so many different oppinions,and strong ones i might add,and i was wondering what kind of wire is used in the axiom line.maybe Alan Loft could answer and give his personal oppinion on this subject....and to all that say copper wire is copper wire,would you think less of a speaker co. that used 20 ga.telephone wire based on that theory?............Ron

Top
#10942 - 05/15/03 06:09 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
chesseroo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 4963
Loc: western canada
Ron, allow me to direct you to an old Post by Alan here.

_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#10943 - 05/15/03 06:25 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16335
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I don't know what kind of wire is used inside Axioms, but I can comment on your challenge. I would definitely think less of a speaker company that only used 20 ga. wire internally. A 5' long 20 ga wire can only handle about 10 watts. I would hope any speaker manufacturer takes into account the many different amplification powers that could possibly drive the speaker and design the internals with sufficient robustness to handle it.

Most people in the "wire is wire" camp know that there are minimum requirements that need to be met. They just think it's silly to say "thicker is better" regardless of actual electrical requirements. For example, a 10' long 16 ga. wire is more than enough to handle 100 watts.

I, myself, like to err on the side of safety, so I always go one gauge-level larger than is electrically required.
_________________________
"Hello world." -- Every programmer, at one point or another.

Top
#10944 - 05/15/03 07:03 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10465
Ron, I'm not certain which wire in the speakers you're asking about. If you're including the wire in the drivers themselves, Axiom along with every other manufacturer uses well over 100 feet of copper wire with gauges in the 20s and 30s(note this article for a discussion on the point).

As to the short lengths of wire inside preceding the drivers, 20ga would be fine and would have little effect on the overall resistance between the amp and drivers. The thicknesses of wire in common use are adequate for 10 watts or 1,000 watts.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#10945 - 05/15/03 09:58 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
Haoleb Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/25/02
Posts: 1488
Loc: Maine
I opened my speakers before, i believe it was 18 gauge. might have been 16 but i think it was 18. with gold connectrs on the ends! woo hoo! lol.
_________________________
Haoleb's Audio/DIY Website

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.