You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10941 - 05/15/03 05:59 PM what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
rcvecc Offline
aficionado

Registered: 04/17/03
Posts: 608
Loc: east haven ct
I noticed that when wiring posts pop up,there are so many different oppinions,and strong ones i might add,and i was wondering what kind of wire is used in the axiom line.maybe Alan Loft could answer and give his personal oppinion on this subject....and to all that say copper wire is copper wire,would you think less of a speaker co. that used 20 ga.telephone wire based on that theory?............Ron

Top
#10942 - 05/15/03 06:09 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5171
Loc: western canada
Ron, allow me to direct you to an old Post by Alan here.

_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#10943 - 05/15/03 06:25 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
I don't know what kind of wire is used inside Axioms, but I can comment on your challenge. I would definitely think less of a speaker company that only used 20 ga. wire internally. A 5' long 20 ga wire can only handle about 10 watts. I would hope any speaker manufacturer takes into account the many different amplification powers that could possibly drive the speaker and design the internals with sufficient robustness to handle it.

Most people in the "wire is wire" camp know that there are minimum requirements that need to be met. They just think it's silly to say "thicker is better" regardless of actual electrical requirements. For example, a 10' long 16 ga. wire is more than enough to handle 100 watts.

I, myself, like to err on the side of safety, so I always go one gauge-level larger than is electrically required.
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#10944 - 05/15/03 07:03 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Ron, I'm not certain which wire in the speakers you're asking about. If you're including the wire in the drivers themselves, Axiom along with every other manufacturer uses well over 100 feet of copper wire with gauges in the 20s and 30s(note this article for a discussion on the point).

As to the short lengths of wire inside preceding the drivers, 20ga would be fine and would have little effect on the overall resistance between the amp and drivers. The thicknesses of wire in common use are adequate for 10 watts or 1,000 watts.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#10945 - 05/15/03 09:58 PM Re: what kind of wire is used in axiom speakers?
Haoleb Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/25/02
Posts: 1488
Loc: Maine
I opened my speakers before, i believe it was 18 gauge. might have been 16 but i think it was 18. with gold connectrs on the ends! woo hoo! lol.
_________________________
Haoleb's Audio/DIY Website

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,622 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
211 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup