Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Axiom vs. Wharfedales (or similar)
#11364 05/25/03 04:22 AM
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Hello
I'm a newbie audio convert and I'm in the process of spending ~$1500 on speakers to probably go w/ a 45TX. The system will be 50/50 HT and music, in a 12'x 20' room. room is hardwood floors and back of room has glass windows from floor to ceiling. I have demo'ed Paradigms (Monitor 7's), Monitor Audios (can't afford), M&K's etc. I ended up liking the Pacific Evo line from Wharfedale. I liked the detail (much better than paradigm) a lot. I'm looking at:

L/R: Evo 20 floorstanding
Center: Evo
Sub: Paradigm PDR12 (didn't like wharfedale sub)
Rears: Evo 8's

Can someone recommend a comparable Axiom setup? Has anyone compared vs Wharfedales? I was ready to go w/ Wharfedale but on avsforum.com "sushi" and others recommended these highly.

Also looking at the Aperions.

Thanks.

Re: Axiom vs. Wharfedales (or similar)
#11365 05/25/03 04:38 AM
shareholder in the making
Well, it could be sacrilage, but have you considered Magnepans? They're magneplanar speakers (flat, big, huge, sound great). Worth a listen. Not to say that I don't like Axioms, mind you...

http://www.magnepan.com

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
#11366 05/25/03 06:43 PM
connoisseur
Online Content
connoisseur
I know owners of Maggies love them, but to my ears they don't sound natural, but weird.

I have a pair of Wharfedale Sapphire SP83s which I used in my garage system for a while, and they are fine sounding speakers, almost as good as the Axiom M3Tis.

Don't know about Aperions.

Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
#11367 05/26/03 04:31 AM
M
mwc Offline
aficionado
aficionado
M