Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
One for geeks and especially for JohnK
#116931 11/23/05 12:31 AM
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Stumbled upon yet another "science vs. ears" dustup on ecoustics regarding cables. The usual name-calling and finger-pointing. The usual "impedence over 50 feet is .32 ohms either way you moron" attacks and "I'm going to hold my breath until I turn blue" and "you're just a shill for xxx" defense. So this guy "rotten rottie" comes up and just puts the hammer down on the whole lot. I mean the only was response was a feeble "i think rotten just won." Here a link and here's the nuclear-option post: (BTW "Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics!)

Folks, the level of contraversy here is kind of nuts. My background is a masters in mathematical science and an undergraduate minor in space physics. I was certified by IEEE in 1975 as a relay engineer. In relaying you impose a carrier wave on top of the 60cycleAC current to prevent bad things like system blackouts. The key calculation is a series of 0 sequence numbers that tell you how a wire and load are going to distort frequency under changing load conditions. There are differences in each of these wires due to the orbital structures of the atoms that compose the wire. The dspf orbital configuration. The conductor that produces the least distortion is aluminum. If you go look it up on the periodic table You will find that it has a dsp-5 structure. The fewer orbitals the less opportunity the electrons have to change energy levels and introduce distortion in the wave pattern that is being sent electically down the wire. The problem with aluminum is that at room temperaturesits resistance is relatively high resulting in IsquaredR losses which reduce the sound level you want and increase the damping factor which reduces clarity. The cure is to supercool the conductor. At room tempertures, nickel and copper will have the least distortion because they have dsp-6 orbitals. Silver has dsp-7 orbitals. Tha