Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Sub boomy? What to do?
#120852 12/16/05 03:56 AM
Abyss Offline OP
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
Hope this is the correct forum to place this. I’m posting this in hopes that it may save someone else, what little of their sanity they have left.

I've been loving my M22, VP150 & QS4's but was some what frazzled about my sub being boomy. First let me explain, I'm a bass player and have been for 30+ years and as a result I am very finicky about my low end. I’m not an expert and don’t pretend to be but I know what sounds right, meters and charts help but in the end, it’s up to your ears to decide. My sub is a Velodyne CHT12, 12” front firing and ported on the front. It’s always performed well with my old Klipsch KG5.2’s, which I have retired to the music room. The home theater is in a 13x18x8 tile floor room with real plaster walls & ceilings. Pics can be found here. I use to have the crossover set to 40hz and never looked back. Well after much testing I was getting almost angry at the fact that this sub just sounded to boomy crossed over at 80 and 100hz.