You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Denon 3910 problem

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#122231 - 12/29/05 12:14 AM Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
No, I don't have one...

But a friend of mine does. I've upgraded to the Denon LINK 3 firmware on it twice, and I found out tonight that it had lost that upgrade again; eg in the DLINK menu, it only shows OFF and 2nd, where before it showed OFF, 2nd, and 3rd. Anyone else encountering this? Anyone know what I'm talking about?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122232 - 12/29/05 01:06 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
I think bigwill might have something to say about it.
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#122233 - 12/29/05 01:09 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Probably similar to what my friend said about it...
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122234 - 12/29/05 01:39 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
A follow up on this--since no one seems to know about Denon LINK 3--he's also considering switching to analog cables. Will that work for DVD video, or does he need a digital connection as well?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122235 - 12/29/05 01:51 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
The 5.1 analog connection will work for DVD videos. BUT, his processor wouldn't be applying any bass management or other processing to the multichannel inputs. The 3910 would be doing the digital to analog conversion, and he's have to set up the speaker sizes and distances in the 3910, assuming that's possible. Is there some reason he can't just use a standard digital output, coax or optical, from his Denon to his processor?
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#122236 - 12/29/05 02:04 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I'm just trying to make it as straightforward as possible; which seemed to be the DenonLINK. Sadly, it seems that I was wrong about that.



Hmm... I just looked at the manual, and at first glance, firewire should work for all of the various formats. Can anyone confirm this? If so, what's the point of DenonLINK at all?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,015 Topics
424,280 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (aarons)
217 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup