You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » EP350 Trouble ????

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#128783 - 02/16/06 09:24 PM EP350 Trouble ????
Moorthy Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/09/06
Posts: 19

I received my EP350 today, and hooked it up to my Yamaha HTR-5860 (RX-V657) using a half decent cable (Acoustic Research).

The cable runs from the pre-out RCA jack on the reciever, to the "Line Level In" RCA jack on the sub.

As per the Yamaha manual, I turned the X-Over Frequency control on the sub all of the way up (120hz), and adjusted the volume to 4 (out of 10). I then ran the automated YPAO calibration on the receiver. There was a little volume coming out of the sub during calibration, but not much.

I then put in The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over. Was the sub working? Yes, a little. I then decided to put in an action movie, and decided on The Transporter. Was the sub working? Yes, but again, only a little. I adjusted the volume control, but it really didn't make a difference. With the volume control set to zero, I couldn't hear anything, but when set from 1- 10, it didn't seem to make a difference.

If it means anything, the cooling fins on the back of the sub were still cool after an hour of use.

BTW, I love the QS8s, I had no problem hooking them up at all.





Top
#128784 - 02/16/06 09:56 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
Moorthy Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/09/06
Posts: 19
MORE INFO

I don't believe that the problem is the fuse as the green power light does indeed come on.

I went through the receiver menu settings. I made sure the crossover frequency was set to 80hz, and that LFE/BASS OUT signals were indeed going to the sub.





Top
#128785 - 02/16/06 09:57 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
bigwill2 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 586
Maybe you need to adjust the subwoofer output level in your reveiver?

My Denon does this onscreen, my Pioneer does it on the receivers LCD readout, but I don't know about your Yamaha.

IMO, it makes sense to crank that sub output all the way up in order to maximize signal strength, but others may not agree.

Top
#128786 - 02/16/06 10:04 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I'm not a sub expert, but if you have your receiver controlling the sub at 80hz, the sub crossover should be set at 0 or bypass.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#128787 - 02/16/06 10:13 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
Spoiler Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/03/06
Posts: 683
Loc: South Florida
Simple question but... the pre-out that the sub cable's plugged into is labeled 'subwoofer'... correct? It can be a common mistake to have trouble finding the correct jack.

_________________________
Epic 80 / SVS PB13 Ultra
Denon 3805 / M2200 Outlaw Monos /
Sammy 55" LED

Top
#128788 - 02/16/06 10:21 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
Moorthy Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/09/06
Posts: 19


bigwill2 - I tried that, and it didn't work. I couldn't hear any tones coming through the sub at the time while I was increasing the volume.


HomeDad - I not a sub expert either (obviously). I just set everything as I was told.


Spoiler - Yes indeed, I did select the subwoofer jack.


.

Top
#128789 - 02/16/06 10:25 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
Don't worry some of the real experts will chime in soon.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#128790 - 02/16/06 10:31 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
bigwill2 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 586
Friend or neighbor nearby that would let you swap your sub into his system to see if it is the sub at fault?

Top
#128791 - 02/16/06 11:02 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
Homedad, if there is a bypass option, then yes you want to use that....however, most subs don't have a bypass option, so you want to turn the sub x-over clockwise to the highest position to get it out of the way, and let the receiver setting manage the crossover.

I always left my 350 volume on about 11-12 o'clock position. I believe most people start around 10-11 o'clock, then run the calibration tests on the receiver OR use a Radio Shack SPL meter and calibrate to 75dB's or so for all speakers.

On the receiver try all speakers set to small, sub to Yes, and an 80hz crossover.

Keep in mind most CD music is not going to produce a lot of low LFE. Have you tried a good action movie with lots of LFE? Also, what is your dB level on your receiver for the sub channel. With my sub set to the 11 o'clock position, the Denon would be around 0dB's on the channel to achieve 75dB SPL.

ps: now that I have a 500, it is a whole new story.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#128792 - 02/16/06 11:16 PM Re: EP350 Trouble ????
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
Yeah, I was thinking of the 500, I forgot the rear of the 350 is a bit different.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,619 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
303 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup