system placement for newbie
#132911 03/22/06 08:56 PM
J
JLarg Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
J
Newbie here and I have a few simple questions. I am building a new game/TV room that is going to be 20 X 40 in size. My question is, can I place my big screen TV in one corner of the room and set up a 7.1 system to cover the entire room, or should I just focus on getting the best sound to the (TV area) roughly half of the room? Also, would it be better to place the TV on the 20 ft flat wall instead of the corner for better speaker coverage or will the corner placement be OK. Finally, the ceiling is about a 15' cathedral. How best to place my rear speakers? Stands are not really an option (pool table), so could I mount from the ceiling (might look kind of weird) or can I go to the back wall and have them facing the TV about 38 feet away? Thanks in advance for the help and I can clarify anything that is not clear.

Re: system placement for newbie
#132912 03/22/06 09:07 PM
shareholder in the making
shareholder in the making
that is a huge room like mine, 30ft x 31ft I would say for HT applications, you would want the speakers in that general area. It is ok to have some seperation, but to use the whole room would ruin the effect. Now for music, my mains still fill the whole room, and you could run some extra speakers for when you have people over shooting a game of pool. My guess is you won't have to worry, as long as you pick the right speakers.

If I were you, instead of a TV, you might want to consider a Front Projector and a large screen, nothing compares to having your own theater, if you have the room for it. It is a lot easier to get warranty on a 12lb projector, than a huge TV.