Clipping
#133513 03/27/06 02:47 PM
R
Rapmon Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
R
I'm new to this so please don't LOL. I didn't know I had a crappy system till I started researching for new speakers. What exactly does clipping sound like? Is it similar to the sound of a kazoo? And if not, what could be causing that; A cracked woofer? Also, do blown speakers still work or do they just sound bad? One more question. Why do home theater receivers have two options for attaching speakers and is one option better than the other? Thank you for curing my ignorance in advance.

".....We don't need no thought control..." Axiom M60's CSW m60's HK avr 240
Re: Clipping
#133514 03/27/06 04:25 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
I can't help you on the cliping, never heard it before. As far as your receiver having options for connecting speakers, there are actually three, bare wire, spades or banana clips. The latter two are just a personal choice for convenience, no difference in sound quality, the banana's are just easier to connect in tight spots.

A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
#133515 03/27/06 05:35 PM
aficionado
aficionado
A KAZOO?.............(LOL).

Sorry.

LIFE: "Choices, balance, and timing"

(Larryism)
#133516 03/27/06 06:42 PM
old hand
old hand
Unless I'm badly mistaken, clipping is what you get when you try to get too much volume from not enough power. In other words, the amplifier can't keep up with the demand for power, and the louder parts of the signal get flattened out (picture a sine wave that's flat on the top and bottom...) because there's no more juice. This is really bad for speakers, besides sounding distorted. Speakers driven too hard with a weak amp tend to get burned out faster than when driven to the same level with a powerful amp because of this signal distortion.

Damaged speakers also sound bad, (Understatement!!) but I'm not sure how to describe the sound. Maybe like paper fluttering in the wind?