You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish 211

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#136767 - 04/30/06 02:48 PM audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish 211
thanwu Offline
buff

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 59
Loc: Little Rock
Hi, Guys:

It is not related to Axiom speakers, but as a member of axiom family i appreciate your help. I just got my dishnetwork HD reciever 211. It has a HDMI connection for vedio and audio. I can not get DD sound with the HDMI connection, but I do get DD sound from the Toslink cable. Does anybody have any suggestions? my reciever is Yamaha
RX-V2600.

Thanks,

Han

Top
#136768 - 04/30/06 04:15 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish 211
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
Are you sure that everything is set up properly. Maybe there is a "handshake" problem between the dishnetwork receiver and your audio receiver. I'd look at the manuals a couple of times and see if there is a setting that needs to be changed/ activated.
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
#136769 - 04/30/06 08:12 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
thanwu Offline
buff

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 59
Loc: Little Rock
I checked the HDMI connection between the HD reciver and my Yamaha reciever. It is well connected. I get very good video from the connection. I talked to the tech suppot from Dishnetwork. She is not that knowledgable like people in this forum.

Top
#136770 - 05/01/06 01:06 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
moridin Offline
buff

Registered: 08/18/05
Posts: 50
Dish Network CSR's are anything but helpful. Try posting this question over at DBSTalk's 211 Forum. I don't know if the newest Dish receivers have the same issue, but the 942 that I have initially only passed 2-channel audio over HDMI. I think they finally enabled multi-channel audio over HDMI after many months of software upgrades.

Top
#136771 - 05/01/06 04:11 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
thanwu Offline
buff

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 59
Loc: Little Rock
Thanks, Moridin. I think you made the right point. I guess it is not enabled in the HDMI for multi-channel audio. I talked to Yamaha tech support this morning. The guy told me that it should be decoded in multi-channel audio if there is multi-channel audio from the HDMI connection. I can still enjoy the DD sound through the toslink connection, just need to reset the reciver to take the audio signal from Optical/Coxial connection. Thanks again.

Han

Top
#136772 - 05/01/06 04:37 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
curtis Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/28/03
Posts: 1501
Loc: Manhattan Beach, CA
Are you positive the 211 supports audio through the HDMI port? If so...what version of HDMI and do you have to enable anything in the menu?

Top
#136773 - 05/01/06 05:27 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
thanwu Offline
buff

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 59
Loc: Little Rock
It is written on the manual that the HDMI connection support DD sound. The main difference between the HD reciever 811 (old) and the 211 (new) is the HDMI connection. The 811 has a DVI video out. One more thing, I do get stereo sound from the HDMI connection, not DD sound.


Edited by thanwu (05/01/06 05:29 PM)

Top
#136774 - 05/01/06 05:39 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
Remember DD comes in many flavors. It could come in 2 channel and that is what you are seeing.

Your problems convince me, even more, that you should only run audio signals to your audio receiver and leave the video stuff to video gear.
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
#136775 - 05/01/06 07:31 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
thanwu Offline
buff

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 59
Loc: Little Rock
Here are what i found out: for SD channels, the audio from toslink connection is Stereo sound; for HD channels, the audio from toslink connection is DD sound. The audio from HDMI connection is always stereo sound regardless of SD or HD channels.

Top
#136776 - 05/01/06 11:15 PM Re: audio problem with HDMI connection from Dish
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
In that case, I would run the HDMI cable directly to your TV and run a toslink to your audio receiver and be done with it.

On some of the other boards, I have seen numerous posts about problems with HDMI when run through an audio receiver.

As I continue to post, let your video gear do video things and let your audio gear do audio things. Don't ask your audio gear to do video things.

Hope that you get it fixed where you can just enjoy your HT!!!
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,964 Topics
423,627 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (brendo)
195 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup