You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#142304 - 06/23/06 02:48 PM Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s
Jrain Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 18
Has anyone run Flatwire or Invisiwire products up their walls to a QS4, and then connected via Banana Plugs? Specifically want to know if the 90-degree bend or the straight B-Plugs work, IF the QS4 is just mounted using the supplied T-Bracket wall mount? Is there enough clearance between wall to fit these kinds of connectors? Thanks for any insights...

Top
#142305 - 06/23/06 04:08 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Jrain]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
You're not going to get bananas up there with the T bracket. Just screw it in and don't worry about it...
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#142306 - 06/23/06 04:12 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Jrain]
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
Bare wire with drywall hangers with my T-brackets. No problem.

Top
#142307 - 06/23/06 04:13 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: bugbitten]
Jrain Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 18
I was looking at eg. this picture:
http://www.flatwiresolutions.com/assets/images/FLTBJ8590_1_Lrg.jpg

Can you even screw flatwire directly into the posts on a QS4?

Top
#142308 - 06/23/06 04:15 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Jrain]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Yup. I've got mine set up that way. Of course, my wire is stranded, not a band of metal. I did use solid metal ones for a very short time (before realizing I had received something I did not order...), and I basically just bent them into pins and screwed them down that way.

I guess those plugs might work, but I'm not certain. The T bracket gets 'em pretty close to the wall.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#142309 - 06/23/06 04:41 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Ken.C]
Jrain Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 18
I guess I was thinking/hoping that a lot of folks need/want to wire their surrounds on their walls in unobtrusive manner.. the flatwire seems promising in that its paintable and only about 1/32" thick.. so can disappear on the wall. Wondering how folks do this, barring routing thru their walls (not an option for me as it will be in a rental unit.. not allowed).

how far from the wall do the supplied bumpers put the speaker away from the wall?


Edited by Jrain (06/23/06 04:42 PM)

Top
#142310 - 06/23/06 05:00 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Jrain]
inthedeck Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 164
Quote:

how far from the wall do the supplied bumpers put the speaker away from the wall?




Not Very Far (the bumpers are the size of one half of a small gumball).

I tried last night, to mount the QS8's with Banana Plugs attached to the wires...but it was a no go. I took out the plugs, used bare wire, and that should be OK (even with 12 gauge wire).

I too, have the same dilemma, whereby I cannot drill too many holes into the walls, as it's a rental house...and the less holes I make now, the less I will have to patch, when I move out...in a year or two.

Top
#142311 - 06/23/06 05:53 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: inthedeck]
Jrain Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 18
Quote:

Quote:

how far from the wall do the supplied bumpers put the speaker away from the wall?




Not Very Far (the bumpers are the size of one half of a small gumball).

I tried last night, to mount the QS8's with Banana Plugs attached to the wires...but it was a no go. I took out the plugs, used bare wire, and that should be OK (even with 12 gauge wire).

I too, have the same dilemma, whereby I cannot drill too many holes into the walls, as it's a rental house...and the less holes I make now, the less I will have to patch, when I move out...in a year or two.




Thanks for your feedback. Did you try the 90-degree connectors like I showed in the above picture link? And/or were you using flat wire of some sort?

Is there another way of connecting Flat Wire to regular speaker wire if banana connectors are not going to fit? Do you just wrap the wire and twist and use electrical tape or somesuch?

Top
#142312 - 06/23/06 05:59 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Jrain]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
There are holes through the centers of the posts. With the wire you referenced, I'd just roll the wire a bit and stick it through those holes.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#142313 - 06/23/06 06:24 PM Re: Flatwire, Banaplugs and QS4s [Re: Ken.C]
inthedeck Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 164
I don't have flat wire...it's regular 12g wire. When I used the holes in the banana plugs, and then attached them, I don't feel it will clear.

Once I have a little time this weekend/tonight, I will see if I can somehow make the plugs work, otherwise, bare wire into the posts won't bug me.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Mojo)
218 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup