EP500...Lack of base?
#156423 01/20/07 02:52 PM
H
Hassman Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
H
Hey everyone! Just hooked up my wonderful speakers from axiom last night. Fiddled with them a bit, was over-all happy.

This morning, however, as I play with the settings and what not, I've noticed a decisive lack of base from the system. The base kicks in and and you know it is there for the deep stuff, but in the overall playback of a movie...it just seems missing or weak.

I'm probably setting something wrong, but I'm a noob, so who knows. I'm not even sure what info to give you guys to help out.

I got the Epic 60-500 setup, a Yamaha 2600 for receiver. I've got the crossover set to bypass on the 500, set to 80 in the receiver. I've toyed between splitting the base between just the sub and the sub+Left Right fronts. I've also switched between small and large for the left and right fronts.

I dunno if I'm missing something, being paranoid, or what. I've heard that some speakers need to "break in" (whether or not that is true, I haven't the foggiest, these are my first "real" speakers), but I guess I was expecting a little more in the tone range right out of the gate.

Everything else seems great though. I'm hearing things I never would have expected to be there.

Suggestions? Comments?

Thanks in advance!
Mark

Re: EP500...Lack of base?
Hassman #156424 01/20/07 03:03 PM
shareholder in the making
Hey Mark,

Wow, there are so many things to look at.

Sub location?
m60s locations?
seating distance in relation to room length?
sub knob volume (gain)?
receiver levels dB for the sub channel?
trim setting on the sub (flat, half, etc...)
acoustics of room, etc....
room size?

Keep in mind the realllllll lowwwww stuff in movies will be directed to the sub, however, depending on the music you listen to, you may not get anything from the sub.

If you can answer some of the questions above, we may be able to help out...

M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350