O.O.T The meaning of service
#158209 02/10/07 06:46 AM
D
DL30 Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
D
First of all - I am not a prolific poster, but I am a prolific reader of this board and appreciate the thoughtful and intelligent postings of the majority of the denizens here. There is always a sense of decorum and a general respect for varying opinions. Those are the main reasons that I am posting this here rather than on some political blog or forum. I apologize for the length and lack of cohesion, but I just had to write something down.

I had to travel to Springfield, Illinois today for work and by chance on my route back to the highway I passed by Oak Ridge Cemetery where the Lincoln Tomb is located.

On a whim I decided to stop. Okay, not a full fledged whim, since Barak Obama is announcing his candidacy for President at the old state capitol in Springfield tomorrow, and it was all over the radio and news. In the hallway on the way to and from the tomb, are bronze plaques with excerpts from Lincoln's Farewell Address to Springfield, The Gettysburg Address, and his second inauguration. I was struck by how honest and off the cuff Lincoln's words were (no speech writer - all himself) and how much they focused on his duty to serve his country to the best of his abilities. I suggest you google and read these works - they are all short readings (a paragraph or two), and in the context of the issues facing the States at the time, especially the Farewell to Springfield, and the outcome is quite moving and better than any Hollywood script you could ever read.