Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Feeling Ignorant Today…..
#162258 03/21/07 11:55 PM
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
OK, so here's the deal: I've got seven computers here in my business/home, but they're not networked. I DO have a wireless router that's providing internet to two laptops, but no network has been setup. My main business computer is left on anytime I'm home and awake.

I have two, 400-disc jukeboxes that sit in my HT rack, empty and unused and I'm considering getting a Squeezebox or a Roku Soundbridge to replace them. My intentions are mostly to listen to my own, ripped discs but might also enjoy internet radio or Pandora. I ditched XM last month because I'm tired of their poor quality, but will miss the variety of music. This move will ease the loss.

Unfortunately, I'm a novice on this particular type of item, so I have some real "dumb guy" questions:

1- Am I correct that the squeezebox, in general, seems to be the favored model? I did research the recent thread on it and that seems to be the case…

2- I have a series 2 TiVo that isn't connected for any networking capabilities. Is it worth trying before purchasing a unit like those above, or do they have advantages over the TiVo system? Any particular advantages/disadvantages to the TiVo system for this?

3- Ditto the above for an Xbox 360. I have the 20 gig hard drive on it, but wish it had a 300 gig HD option so I could just rip all my discs to it directly. It's not networked either. Any particular advantages/disadvantages to the XBOX system for this?

4- Bear with me for the following in terms of how it gets used: