You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Hooking up multiple EP subs.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#179936 - 10/21/07 04:51 PM Hooking up multiple EP subs.
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
I was just curious if any of you have 2,3, or even 4 EP model subs, and how are you hooking them up?

I suppose one option would be to use "Y" type cables to seperate the low signals coming out of the AVR.

Or, can you just daisy chain them togethor since there is an input and output on the back of these subs?

Are there any issues with calibrating such a setup? Ian is a big on using this type of scenario over treatments and eq.

I was just thinking about if I ever added 2 EP350(new), 2 EP400, or 2 EP500's to the side walls and put the EP600 on the front wall again, how I would accomplish this task.

Randy
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#179938 - 10/21/07 05:09 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1328
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
Hey Randy,

I recall seeing a post from Alan regarding this and seem to recall that he recommended daisy-chaining thru the in/out ports on the sub. I'm considering a second EP500 to smooth things out as well.

Scott
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
#179939 - 10/21/07 05:34 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Mojo and I hooked up 2 subs daisy chained at our last meeting and we had no problems this way. Certainly an easy way to do it.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#179955 - 10/21/07 07:12 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: jakewash]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
I was thinking mojo told me he could not get daisy chain to work with his 600, maybe that was with his old Sony sub?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#179963 - 10/21/07 08:15 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
Found an old quote from Alan.

"Check the back of your subs. Axiom has line-level outputs on the back of its subs that let you run a coaxial cable to daisy-chain a second subwoofer--or a third. Other manufacturers may or may not offer that output jack."

Looks like daisy chaining might be an option.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#179966 - 10/21/07 08:38 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4613
Randy,

I indeed cannot daisy chain my Sony sub to my 600. When I do so, the Sony's output is severely attenuated. When I connect just the Sony, it sounds like it should. I have not been able to establish why this is happening.

At Jason's house, we daisy-chained my Sony to his sub and then to his Denon without issue. And jakeman tells me that he's daisy-chained multiple subs out of the 600. So the issue could be related to my Denon's sub output not being able to handle the additional load or some problem with the 600.

I have to get my hands on another sub to establish where the fault lies.

Top
#179967 - 10/21/07 08:45 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: Mojo]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
What type of sub does Jason have, I don't see it in his profile?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#179994 - 10/21/07 11:59 PM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4613
I don't remember. It's something like 20 years old.

Top
#180001 - 10/22/07 12:04 AM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
It is an old D-box sub I picked up from Costco way back when subs were just becoming popular for HT, circa 1993 or 94 I believe. A new one is next on my list. Although the M60s(soon to be M80s) may make it harder for me to upgrade as they work so well.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#180003 - 10/22/07 12:28 AM Re: Hooking up multiple EP subs. [Re: SirQuack]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Either way, Randy. Probably if the second sub is nearby, a daisy chain should be set up(with subs that have that provision)since the connection would be shorter. If the subs are widely separated for help with room modes, a Y-connection with separate cables from the receiver/processor makes more sense for the same reason.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,206 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,962 Topics
423,591 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (CV)
251 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup