Hi,

I have hooked up my (LG) Surround Sound theater system to my Rogers cable and my TV but I cannot get sound on some of the High Def stations. On regular TV it is fine. I have an HDMI cable from the TV (Insignia) to the cable-TV box, a component-video connection (Red/Blue/Green) from the LG surround sound system to the TV and a digital optical audio connector (akaToslink) from my SS to the cable-TV box.

Another problem I am having is that the SS is brand new but does not sound very powerful for a 1000-watt system. Also, I don't think the subwoofer is working on any setting I try (Theater,Chapel,Music etc.). I am new at this but am pretty frustrated in trying to get the whole thing set up and running properly. I must have something hooked up wrong but I can't figure out what it is. I have been back to the dealer four times and have changed the system to this current one but the problem persists, so it has to be my connections.

Can you help me?

-- Marie

------------------------------------

Dear Marie,

HDMI connections sometimes have "issues" because HDMI carries digital video and audio bitstreams together--convenient, but only if HDMI works properly, and half the time it doesn't.

In the interest of getting everything working, let's eliminate the HDMI connection entirely. Your Rogers cable box should have component-video outputs. Use those for the video, from the cable box to your LG surround system, then to the component-video inputs on the TV display. (HDMI is not necessarily better than component video. The latter can carry full HD just fine.)

For audio, use your digital optical (Toslink) from the cable box to your LG surround system.

Go into the Rogers cable box menu, and be sure to designate "5.1" (Dolby Digital) bitstream and assign it to the Toslink output if necessary. Don't select "Stereo" or PCM, if those are possible choices.