Hello! Upgrading the HT, few questions
#206034 04/29/08 09:16 PM
J
JaredM Offline OP
buff
OP Offline
buff
J
Hello all! First time poster, been lurking in the darkness a few weeks while doing my initial round of research. I have to say I'm pretty much sold on Axiom now, this community, and the wonderful customer service experiences I've read about really made the choice easy. Not to mention the fact I'm sure I'll love the speakers

I'm a computer programmer by day, I'd have to say I'm pretty savvy when it comes to building custom PCs, I've also done a decent amount of work with HTPCs. I would like my computer to play an integral part in all of this, since it is the piece of equipment I will use the most. I would not consider myself an audio/videophile by any means, although I am learning more every day, and will definitely be able to appreciate higher quality hardware.

This system will be a major upgrade for me, been saving for quiet a while and have set the total budget somewhere in the neighborhood of $12K US. This needs to include the speakers, receiver, projector (mount and screen I have), blackout window blinds and all the associated cabling. Luckily I have two things going for me, a decent job, and no wife ;\) Unfortunately I am renting this house, and don't want to do any serious modifications to the walls/ceiling other than mounting a few things. I will using this system for gaming (PC/Xbox/PS3), movies and music, likely in equal proportions.

Here's a pic of the room and my initial estimation of the layout with dimensions: http://www.theconfuzion.com/AV.jpg (400 square, 3100 cubic). The right side of the room opens up in to the kitchen, and dining room. No doors, it's all pretty open. I can post a few pics later if it'll matter. Feel free to comment on the layout, still a bit of a newbie at this!

This is what I'm after:
1. Speakers
- M80 fronts
- VP150 center
- 4xQS8s surrounds
- 2xEP350 subs (still unsure about this)
2. Video
- Epson 1080p projector