You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Axiom subs in a cabinet display

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#206488 - 05/01/08 04:24 PM Axiom subs in a cabinet display
McD Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 04/12/08
Posts: 21
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
In order to satisfy the other half, I have to explore having speakers and subs inside a cabinet display underneath my big screen TV. Speakers are not a problem. Sub's may be. Velodyne quotes that most of there subs can be enclosed,(I think they would rather not, but they say you can), and they actually promote a series called the subcontractor series (SC series), which are made for these cabinet custom installs.

Has anyone ever put a EP350v3 or a EP500v2 inside a cabinet with a normal cloth grill on the front for sound outlet. Axiom designers may want to give opinions on this.?????

Myles

Top
#206489 - 05/01/08 04:30 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: McD]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
I wouldn't do it.

If you REALLY have to hide the subs somewhere, you might consider some architectural-series in-wall thing.

Or put a IB sub in the basement or attic.

Unless you can build the sub enclosure as an integral part of the cabinet, I don't think you'll be happy with the results.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#206492 - 05/01/08 04:38 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: tomtuttle]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
what speakers are you enclosing in the cabinet? I would avoid putting anything inside an enclosed cabinet, not speakers or subs.
_________________________
-David

Top
#206499 - 05/01/08 05:49 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: terzaghi]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The front port of the EP series allows them to be put in an open enclosure. The speakers are going to be another story as the rear ports will cause problems. Maybe use the VP100s as mains vertically and then one vertically or horizontally for a center.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#206501 - 05/01/08 05:56 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: jakewash]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
It's not just the ports that are hte issue; it's the boundary effects.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#206503 - 05/01/08 06:09 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: Ken.C]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I am guessing the front of the speakers will be flush to the cabinet minimizing effects, it shouldn't be anyworse than in-wall speakers this way
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#206524 - 05/01/08 08:33 PM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: jakewash]
myrison Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/03/08
Posts: 1898
Loc: Denver, CO
Not to mention (good) subs inside a cabinet of any sort run the risk of producing a rattle from the cabinet itself or eventually just shaking it completely apart. \:\)

I feel your pain on WAF... it makes us all do very strange undesirable things. ;\)
_________________________
Epic 80-800: HG Cherry

Top
#206588 - 05/02/08 10:49 AM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: myrison]
McD Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 04/12/08
Posts: 21
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
To all,

Thanks for the feedback.

The cabinet enclosure (8'W x 2'D) will only house the 2 front speakers, the AV components, and possibly a sub, some drawers for CD's etc. The center will be mounted underneath the TV. The frontspeakers that I scoped out are a sealed unit, no ports, and are used in a lot of custom installations, so they are not a problem.

So far I have found everything I need to make the cabinet enclosure system work. I am asking for advice on the sub because the Velodyne SC15 system has a separate 1250 watt amp (outside the sub) which drives the actual sub. (The reviews are good), The sub can be infloor, inwall,inceiling, or in room. The SC15 MSRP is around $1800. I am sure I can get for less, but I wanted to explore the merits of installing a EP500 in an enclosure, because it is an awesome sub for a lot less $$$.

Top
#206607 - 05/02/08 11:50 AM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: McD]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
I still think the intent of the designing engineer is pretty important here. I'd consult Axiom directly, but I'm skeptical that you're going to get performance value by placing a box subwoofer within a cabinet niche.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#206608 - 05/02/08 11:52 AM Re: Axiom subs in a cabinet display [Re: tomtuttle]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
I agree Tom, not a good idea, even if it is front ported.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Mojo)
218 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup