Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
4 registered (wschwartz, Boomzilla, Ken.C, Ajax), 60 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13365 Members
11 Forums
23109 Topics
408607 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17868
pmbuko 16326
SirQuack 13356
CV 11413
MarkSJohnson 11080
Meanwhile On Facebook

Any roadies / concert lovers out there think this is as cool as I do?

󾓶Ay, caramba! Our 'sneak peek' announcement in this morning's newsletter genera...

󾔸 Testing various operating systems with our new High Power Computer Speakers t...

Kick it up for Tone!

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#217763 - 08/10/08 05:20 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: michael_d]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4858
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Definitely a learning curve on this thing.

This was my first HT receiver to ever own though, and I was able to figure everything out ok.
_________________________
-David

Top
#217862 - 08/12/08 12:03 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4083
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
So I ran Audyssey and then I went into manual setup for speaker distances and my subwoofer was set to 22 ft, I'm assuming Audyssey did this. I readjusted it to 12 ft which is correct for the main listening position; should I have done this or is it set up like this for the various listening positions?

Thanks
Cam
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#217865 - 08/12/08 12:10 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6894
Loc: PEI, Canada
Yup, normal behavior, it seems, for Audyssey and subs. Good eye. I adjusted mine to the correct distance for my main listening position but I seem to recall someone saying to leave it as it's a correction for phase or something.

OK I'll just mark this as edited because I can't remember which is the correct course of action.

Obviously, I need a coffee. Be right back.


Edited by Murph (08/12/08 12:17 PM)
Edit Reason: confused myself.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217868 - 08/12/08 12:25 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3996
Loc: Up yonder
Rule of thumb I use for sub distance is to add 8 feet to the actual distance. It has something to do with processing of information at the sub. John knows....

Also, it's not Audysey that sets these distances and delays. Audysey is the EQ software for room correction. Audysey just works with the AVR's auto set up.
_________________________


Top
#217869 - 08/12/08 12:26 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6894
Loc: PEI, Canada
OK instead of coffee I did some searching. To summarize several older posts.

Edited to the read [The Amps Set up Software] has trouble with subs containing a DSP processor and ofter greatly exaggerates the distance. However, some recommended that when adjusting it back, you still leave 3 to 6 feet extra to compensate for the delay caused by the DSP processor.

A couple of sub experts will likely have better explanations and advice soon. I just needed to go back and re-read as to why I was confused.

Final Edit: See I told ya one would be here soon. Sniped me while I typed.


Edited by Murph (08/12/08 12:28 PM)
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217873 - 08/12/08 12:56 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4858
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I think that rule only applies for DSP based sub like the ep500..


_________________________
-David

Top
#217882 - 08/12/08 01:34 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6894
Loc: PEI, Canada
Thus my words "subs containing a DSP processor".
;\)
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217883 - 08/12/08 01:36 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3996
Loc: Up yonder
It's not just DSP related, but all powered subs. The DSP adds more needed delay than others is all.
_________________________


Top
#217886 - 08/12/08 02:04 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: michael_d]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4858
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thought I had added an edit statement that said "oops, didn't read murph's post first" but I must have forget to click submit!
_________________________
-David

Top
#217887 - 08/12/08 02:05 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11413
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
I've always had trouble with submission.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.