You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » M2's or M3's for second tv?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#220905 - 09/13/08 07:39 AM M2's or M3's for second tv?
jhunt17 Offline
local

Registered: 05/19/05
Posts: 225
Loc: Ironton, Ohio
I have a plasma tv that I got for another room and I have an old yamaha reciever so I want to use it in that room. My question is I am thinking of using a stereo setup for this tv. Should I use the m2 or m3's for this. I have an old sub that I can use as well. Which should I do? One thing that confussed me. I was looking at the graphs and the m2 had a better flat response than the m3, but cost more. So is this a result of having to make adjustments to get a lower frequency response? If so what do I loose and what do I gain by each speaker?
_________________________
7.1 theater room
60 fronts vp180 center 4 qs8's ep500 sub

3.0 tv room
m3's vp150 center

Top
#220914 - 09/13/08 12:08 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: jhunt17]
doormat Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/28/07
Posts: 395
Loc: Cold Lake, AB
The main concept behind the M3 over the M2 seems to be the base bump that makes it well suited to use in a 2.0 setting. The M2s really do need a sub to fill out the low end.

If you are using a sub I'd say go with the M2. I have both and the M2 is more forward and precise. Mind you, I'm sure not getting rid of my M3s, which sound great w/o the sub.
_________________________
M80s/VP160/QS8s/EP350; M22s; M3s.

Top
#220991 - 09/14/08 10:40 AM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: doormat]
ctown Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/06/07
Posts: 364
Loc: Calgary, AB
Yeah, I have M3's mainly for music in our family room and have sometimes run a DVD thru it in 2.0. Sounds pretty good....a lot better than the TV speakers.

Top
#221018 - 09/14/08 07:51 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: ctown]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Just about anything is better tha OEM TV speakers.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#221495 - 09/18/08 04:24 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: jakewash]
jhunt17 Offline
local

Registered: 05/19/05
Posts: 225
Loc: Ironton, Ohio
Ok so I think I will use the m2, but I can't just sit them on my tv stand. Not enough room. Has anyone found some cheap stands that are good?
_________________________
7.1 theater room
60 fronts vp180 center 4 qs8's ep500 sub

3.0 tv room
m3's vp150 center

Top
#221507 - 09/18/08 06:15 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: jhunt17]
ctown Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/06/07
Posts: 364
Loc: Calgary, AB

Top
#221508 - 09/18/08 06:52 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: jhunt17]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
 Originally Posted By: jhunt17
Ok so I think I will use the m2, but I can't just sit them on my tv stand. Not enough room. Has anyone found some cheap stands that are good?
If you are some what handy, you could build your own. Haloeb built his own and they looked great. Where are those pictures.......
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#221519 - 09/18/08 09:29 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: jakewash]
jhunt17 Offline
local

Registered: 05/19/05
Posts: 225
Loc: Ironton, Ohio
thanks guys. I will look into these.
_________________________
7.1 theater room
60 fronts vp180 center 4 qs8's ep500 sub

3.0 tv room
m3's vp150 center

Top
#221949 - 09/21/08 11:39 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: doormat]
2x6spds Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 3088
Loc: CA, USA
I have both M2s and M3s, and there is no comparison, IMHO. The M3 is an astonishingly satisfying speaker, for music or as part of an HT system.

The M2 has received rave reviews, but to my ears, sounds flat and lifeless in comparison to the M3s.

My M2s are back in bubble wrap stashed atop my garage fridge.

I have a system in every room without a toilet:
Big - Thiel CS3.6s, QS8s, Michaura M55s (M22 like)in the back position, modded Frankencenterspeaker, SVS 20-39;
Office - Michaura M665s (M60 like), VP150, Mission DS77 surrounds, Dahlquist 1500 subwoofer;
Dining Room - Michaura M55s, (sometimes M3s) Velodyne 10" (2 channel)
Living Room - Dahlquist DQM905s, supertweeters, Titanic Vance Dickerson sub;
Garage - M22s, modified Kenwood SW300 subwoofer with replaced Dayton 12" driver.
No room for the M2s in any of these systems.

_________________________
Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.

Top
#221952 - 09/21/08 11:56 PM Re: M2's or M3's for second tv? [Re: 2x6spds]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
wow, lots of speakers! where are the photos of these things!?

It does sound like there is room for the m2's in a bathroom!
_________________________
-David

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Mojo)
218 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup