You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Good PC for SPORE?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#228723 - 11/06/08 01:36 PM Good PC for SPORE?
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1328
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
My kids have fallen prey to Spore and are experiencing lots of shutdowns due to the just-under-minimum specs of the laptop its running on (2.17 GHz vs 2.20 GHz spec). If they save more frequently there is far less trouble.
We're considering getting a new PC for them to use (and so I can get my laptop back). We're more MAC friendly than PC, so I think one of the new iMacs would suffice.
Your comments and suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks,

Scott
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
#229183 - 11/09/08 09:04 PM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: a401classic]
Zarak Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/03
Posts: 1852
Loc: PA
How is this game? I was looking at getting it before it came out but didn't hear good things, so held off. I think a lot of the complaints were about the DRM though.

Top
#230032 - 11/16/08 03:11 AM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: Zarak]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1328
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
My kids played it heavily for a couple of weeks, but haven't played in a while. I think my below minimum requirements laptop that keeps crashing on them has discouraged play.

Sorry I don't have a better review.

Scott
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
#230033 - 11/16/08 03:15 AM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: a401classic]
CV Online   confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11675
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Yeah, your vague Spore score doesn't make me want to go to the store.

Top
#230056 - 11/16/08 12:41 PM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: CV]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
I'm surprised nobody here has responded to your original question. I'm not a gamer, so I don't know much about current requirements, but I would think that unless the game is demanding on the graphics side, any dual core with 3gb of memory and a decent video card would do.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#230062 - 11/16/08 01:37 PM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: fredk]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I would unconditionally recommend the ATi HD48x0 series. I just got a 4850, and it's taken everything I've thrown at it at 1680x1050. Fantastic cards. I think 4 GB of RAM might be a better plan than 3 GB. Definitely go with a C2D or a C2Q.

I haven't played Spore, but as far as I know, it doesn't have huge graphics demands.

And like an idiot, I responded before re-reading the post. One of the new iMacs should be fine, but I'd really wait until Macworld to purchase that. Of course, if you don't want to wait, the top line 3.06GHz would be the best choice (mainly because of the video card; an 8800GS is a fairly large step up from a 2600XT. Which is crap.


Edited by kcarlile (11/16/08 01:38 PM)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#230066 - 11/16/08 02:06 PM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: Ken.C]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4294
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Here's a video of my gaming rig that can handle anything you throw at it. If you click on "more info" to the right of the video, all of the components are listed.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#230162 - 11/17/08 12:59 AM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: Ya_basta]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Nice looking system, Cam, but I think you could use one more LED fan. ;\)
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#230169 - 11/17/08 04:06 AM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: a401classic]
OrwellianAudio Offline
newbie

Registered: 12/28/06
Posts: 4
Loc: Columbus, OH
Scott,
What you need depends on the resolution of the monitor. I use a 22inch monitor that is 1680 X 1050. At less than this resolution your performance will depend more on the CPU and less on the strength of your graphics card. At resolutions higher than this your frame rate will be more bound to the power of the graphics card.
Without knowing more about your situation I will recommend the following: For a CPU the intel core 2 duo E8400 and for a graphics card the ATI Radeon HD4850. These will run your game at nice frame rates without overheating. There are more powerful (and more expensive) options but it sounds like you don't need them. Hope this helps.
-jason
_________________________
M60: VP150: RX-V1600: Emotiva XPA-3: OPPO 981HD:
LFM-1 plus: PS3: panny 42"

Top
#230449 - 11/18/08 09:54 PM Re: Good PC for SPORE? [Re: OrwellianAudio]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1328
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
Thanks everybody. I talked with a co-worker who apparently is a closet gamer and also builds computers. He says Spore isn't too demanding, but if the kiddies get into other games that are more demanding, and he rattled off a bunch of names that didn't sound familiar, then I would need something along the lines of Cam's setup.
So now to figure out what level to get...

Scott
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
33 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup