Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
3 registered (exlabdriver, DigitalGrit, Ken.C), 68 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,380 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,216 Topics
411,144 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17932
pmbuko 16357
SirQuack 13357
CV 11473
MarkSJohnson 11198
Meanwhile On Facebook
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#229479 - 11/11/08 03:25 PM SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO??
cgolf Offline
devotee

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 340
Loc: Cypress, Texas
If you can set speaker distances, size, etc. in a DVD or Blu-Ray player and of course in your pre-pro or receiver, is there an advantage to 1 over the other? I set everything through my pre-pro but now I wonder what the settings are in my source. Does the pre-pro / receiver settings supercede the source settings or vice versa or do they negate each other if both aren't set in unison. Can they be turned off in the source if set in the pre-pro? I plan to continue setting them in my pre-pro so my question is what do I do with the settings at the source? I was confused before I started this thread, but now I'm more confused!!


Edited by cgolf (11/11/08 03:27 PM)

Top
#229488 - 11/11/08 04:13 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: cgolf]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6285
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
To the best of my knowledge, it all depends on which, receiver or source, does a better job of processing the signal. The settings in the source should only have an effect if you connect the source's multichannel analog outputs to the receiver's multichannel analog inputs. The source is doing the decoding and digital-to-analog conversion thus bypassing the settings in the receiver.

If you use an HDMI or digital connection (optical or coaxial), you are bypassing the source's settings and the decoding and digital-to-analog conversion is performed in the receiver and it's settings are in play.

There should be a setting (or settings) in the source where you set which ouputs you are using (HDMI, digital, or analog).
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#229490 - 11/11/08 04:25 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: Ajax]
cgolf Offline
devotee

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 340
Loc: Cypress, Texas
OK, thanks. That makes sense. I'm using HDMI from the player to the TV and optical for sound from the player to the pre-pro. I'll check everything tonight when I play Iron Man again.

Top
#229496 - 11/11/08 04:47 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: cgolf]
myrison Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/03/08
Posts: 1898
Loc: Austin, TX
I would do everything in the receiver (pre/pro) so that any changes you make affect all sources. It seems to me like this would make it a lot easier to manage as you add/remove sources from the system over time.
_________________________
Epic 80-800: HG Cherry | HT Pics

Top
#229499 - 11/11/08 04:57 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: myrison]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13357
Loc: Iowa
ditto
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#229514 - 11/11/08 09:31 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: SirQuack]
Chiefsfan Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/17/08
Posts: 18
Ditto + 1

Top
#229516 - 11/11/08 09:54 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: cgolf]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10487
Charles, unless you're speaking of a situation in which the receiver can't set those parameters, e.g., an SACD in setups where the player(which of course isn't actually the "source")will set them before converting to analog , the receiver sets them.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#229518 - 11/11/08 10:09 PM Re: SETUP IN SOURCE OR PRE-PRO?? [Re: JohnK]
cgolf Offline
devotee

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 340
Loc: Cypress, Texas
Pretty much what I thought but I read so much on different forums that I sometimes begin to wonder about things and of course want to make sure I'm squeezing the last drop of SQ out of my equipment.

Appreciate all the feedback.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.