Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Advice Please
#23028 10/24/03 06:10 AM
Eldwynn Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
Hey folks, I'm new to the world of surround sound and am looking for some honest advice from those of you axiom owners with first hand experience. I'm wanting to build a surround system and have pretty much decided on trying the axiom line of speakers given the excellent reviews... My problem is which ones?

My room dimensions are 11'W X 16.5'L X 7'H. I'm looking not only for a good HT experience but something that really shines musically. I'm thinking of getting the M80ti based system but I'm uncertain as to whether this would simply be over kill and wondering if the increase in cost would yield an equal improvement in sound quality.

1) Would this system simply be too overpowering for a room this size ? ( its possible at some point I'd have a larger room but can't imagine it'd be much more that twice the size) I've read one review saying the M80's aren't suitable for smaller rooms but have noticed people on the forum with M80's and a room size similar to mine?

2) Will I get a better sounding system with the M80's over the M60, M50, M40 systems? How about the differences between the surrounds and subs. Would the extra cost of the QS8's, VP150 and EP350 offer an equivalent increase in improved sound...?

3) Any suggestions on alternate Axiom configurations than listed on the Axiom site?

4) I'm also uncertain about the amp. I'd prefer an integrated amp but mostly want something that is sonically good and future friendly, will handle DVD-audio and SACD formats (even though I'm not entirely sure what they are) and all those Dolby and DTS formats. Any particular products that stand out / match well with Axiom speakers?

My Budget: