You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#261305 - 05/25/09 02:59 PM Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter?
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
When they built our house, I had them run RG6 to every room in the house. I have an outside Terk antenna (piece of crap) that I plan to replace soon with a DIY antenna I built. The question I have is can I use a 4-6way splitter to route the signals to all the rooms, or do I need some type of amplifier to strengthen the signal for some of the longer distances?

All the RG6 is run to a central location in my basement, and since we are 26+ miles form the towers, inside antennas don't cut it to receive all the HD channels.

I noticed Home Depot and Menards have splitters with one input and 4-6 outputs, just wondering if it would be that easy?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#261308 - 05/25/09 05:52 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: SirQuack]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I would run an amplifier on the signal first then to the splitter, this way you should be guaranteed to have good signals to all TV's.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#261312 - 05/25/09 07:40 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: jakewash]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4294
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Jay, don't they sell splitters with a built-in amplifier? Either way, an amplifier is the way to go.

Is there any way that an amplifier could send too high of a signal to say a satellite box with detrimental effects?
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#261318 - 05/25/09 09:17 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: Ya_basta]
gmeyer Offline
buff

Registered: 02/28/07
Posts: 43
Loc: Quincy, IL

its my understanding that too strong of a ATSC signal can overload the input on the tuner which causes problems similar to weak signals
_________________________
M80,VP150,QS8,ERD-1,XPA-2,XPA-5,UMC-10,PS3,XBOX360,Dish VIP622,PB13 Ultra,Panasonic PT-AE3000U

Top
#261359 - 05/26/09 11:35 AM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: gmeyer]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Yep, they do sell Splitters with built in amplifiers, I was thinking more along the lines of a single powered amplifier then to a non powered/no gain splitter since he is looking for a rather large number of line outs, this would be a cheaper solution.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#261373 - 05/26/09 02:23 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: SirQuack]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3256
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Sirquack,

Make sure the splitter will pass the full HD video bandwidth without degradation. It should have a range of 5 Megahertz to 1.5 Gigahertz in order to avoid any HD signal degradation.

Regards,

Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#261382 - 05/26/09 04:30 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: alan]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
Thanks everyone...

Alan, on the gold splitter I purchased it says 5-2300mhz, so I would guess I'm covered? \:\)

I'll try hooking it up and see how it works before I worry about an amplifier. My Terk antenna had an amplifier, but I received better performance with it not hooked up.

Thanks, Randy
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#261394 - 05/26/09 06:47 PM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: SirQuack]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4294
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Randy, if you're not happy with the splitter you purchased, or it's not what Alan was suggesting, I found this site that sells Ultralink splitters that have a 5 MHz to 2 GHz bandwidth. They are the three at the bottom of the page.

I think I have a low grade splitter, and I just might pick one of these up myself.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#261431 - 05/27/09 11:09 AM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: Ya_basta]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
Those look similar to the one I got, except mine is a 4-way.. If this dang rain ever stops I plan to get it all hooked up.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#261561 - 05/28/09 12:04 AM Re: Routing OTA signals throughout house w/splitter? [Re: SirQuack]
duckman Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 315
Loc: kansas
I'd be curious about the DIY antenna you built. Ours has to be 20 yrs old.
_________________________
Well, Alright Then.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,595 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
183 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup