You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Break-in needed on M3's?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#263460 - 06/12/09 01:14 AM Break-in needed on M3's?
starkiller Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/07/09
Posts: 31
Loc: seattle
didnt see anything when i did a search about this so thought i would i would start a thread \:\) is there a break-in needed on the M3's?? they sounded really nice when i first got them, played all kinds of stuff and they sounded good. friend brought over his jm labs bookshelf speakers and wow! the difference was like night and day. the m3's sounded dull, lifeless and bleah...the jm labs were fiery, forward and alive. since then i have read about various other brands of speakers needing a break in period.

so, what's the scoop??

Top
#263461 - 06/12/09 01:34 AM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: starkiller]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Killer, the scoop is that tweeters cycle thousands of times and woofers hundreds of times in the very first second of operation. Any permanent change occurs very quickly, most likely in testing before the speakers leave the factory.

It may be, if the rather extravagant "night and day" language represents your actual listening impressions, that you simply prefer the sound of the JM Labs speakers to that of the M3s.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#263472 - 06/12/09 08:17 AM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: JohnK]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
There is no break in period for any speakers, period.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#263521 - 06/12/09 02:00 PM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: SirQuack]
starkiller Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/07/09
Posts: 31
Loc: seattle
hmm, and my 30 days are up \:\(

Top
#263525 - 06/12/09 02:11 PM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: starkiller]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
A lot depends on your placement of speakers, room characteristics, etc. Are you not happy with what your hearing? You could still call Axiom, they might give you options for upgrading. Most are very happy with the M3's.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#263983 - 06/17/09 03:53 AM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: SirQuack]
danmagicman7 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/16/05
Posts: 1467
M22's sound more like your cup of joe.
_________________________

M22s|VP100|QS4s|HSU STF2

Top
#263985 - 06/17/09 05:17 AM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: danmagicman7]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
If Axiom is still running an upgrade programme perhaps you could upgrade to M22s as suggested. I directly compared some Focals (JMlab) to my M80s and the sounded very similar and the M22s sound very similar to the M80s minus the bass. Might want to contact Axiom and see if you can work something out.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#264080 - 06/18/09 05:27 AM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I will also suggest upgrading to M22's. I find M3's to sound dull/muted when compared to M22's. Give Axiom a call and see if they can help you out, I bet they will if you are not too far past the 30 days.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#264128 - 06/18/09 07:13 PM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: jakewash]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
 Originally Posted By: jakewash
I will also suggest upgrading to M22's. I find M3's to sound dull/muted when compared to M22's. Give Axiom a call and see if they can help you out, I bet they will if you are not too far past the 30 days.


Is it possible to add a resistor to the tweeter like what people have done in the past with the M60's or M80's but in this case using the appropriate resistor with the M3's that would increase the tweeter output? If so would this help add more detail or forwardness that he is looking for?
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#264141 - 06/18/09 10:00 PM Re: Break-in needed on M3's? [Re: BlueJays1]
Spoiler Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/03/06
Posts: 683
Loc: South Florida

Adding a resistor would tame the tweeter to some degree depending on the resistor, not make it more 'detailed' or 'forward'.


_________________________
Epic 80 / SVS PB13 Ultra
Denon 3805 / M2200 Outlaw Monos /
Sammy 55" LED

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,206 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,962 Topics
423,593 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
224 Guests and
6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup