You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » What to use as a backup display?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#281616 - 12/07/09 12:32 AM What to use as a backup display?
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
Iíve been trying to decide what to get as a backup display to keep from blowing through projector lamps. In 5 weeks Iíve already put over 250 hours on the AE4000. However when I do the math any good display I get (something Iíd really want to watch) isnít cost effective compared to replacement lamps at $400 lasting 2,000 hours. I mean for the cost of a $1,600 LCD Iíd have to put 8,000 hours on it just to break even with the cost of using up PJ lamps and Iíd be trading a 134Ē for probably a 55Ē screen.

Also one of the biggest things that Iím afraid will eat up my lamps is that I usually have the PJ on from 5 hours at a time on workdays and Saturday and 15+ hours at a time on other days off. From what Iíve read having them on that long really uses up the lamp faster than normal. Since this might be the biggest thing that eat up lamps and that Iím not going to switch from the PJ to an HDTV 2-4 hours into a DVD/Gaming marathon and then back again a few hours later and HDTV really doesnít seem cost effective or have the same utility value then . . . .

Hereís the new idea. Use another PJ as a backup to my AE4000. With two projectors I could have the same size either identical or similar quality picture (thinking Epson) as my current projector. Swapping between them every few hours could save wear on the lamps assuming Iím not turning them on and off to often.

Nothing says I have to buy the second PJ right away. Likely time to get the second one would be when I replace this first lamp or when my DLP dies whichever comes first.

The way Iím seeing it while a second PJ wonít eliminate lamp replacement cost it should reduce it due to eliminating marathon use. It gives me a much more elegant placement option (right below my current PJ) rather than somewhere between me an my speakers (presently dragging the DLP in and out of the adjacent room). And best of all if one goes out for any reason my backup is still a PJ and screen and not a 55Ē HDTV

Is this just me being crazy due to lack of sleep this weekend or might I be onto something?
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#281618 - 12/07/09 12:44 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: grunt]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10640
Dean, my understanding is that firing the cold lamp up is the greatest factor in shortening its service life. For example, running two projectors 4 hours each alternately instead of one for 8 hours continuously would likely result in more combined wear on the lamps. So I don't think the proposal would be cost-effective.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#281619 - 12/07/09 01:15 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: JohnK]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
That is my understanding as well.

Are pj bulbs like rp bulbs? On an rp, if you change just the bulb and not the whole assembly it is a lot less costly.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#281621 - 12/07/09 01:17 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: fredk]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
Unfortunately no one site says all the same things about prolonging lamp life. Many things are standard but not what they say about lamp use. A few sites say avoid turning it on and of often (makes sense). A couple sites say donít ever turn it on and then right back off again, let it stabilize (also makes sense). A few sites say leaving it on for long periods greatly shortens the life and recommend no more than 3-5 hours at a time. However, while shopping over a year ago I remember reading something saying that with modern lamps this was no longer an issue, but I canít find that again.

If I did use a second PJ as a backup I would only turn each one on and off no more than twice a day and usually only once or even not at all as I would still maintain a small monitor for some mundane computer work.

The biggest hassle Iím running into right now with the backup system Iíve got is where to place the HDTV. There are just no appealing options which means pulling it in and out of the room. That is not such a pain in and of itself but I already ran into a hiccup last week that caused me to waste half an afternoon troubleshooting why my Vista computer stopped seeing my Samsung DLP as a Samsung and only saw it as a generic non-plug and play monitor. And failed to load the drivers allowing it to display 1920x1080. While both my XP machines were having no problems. I finally traced it to a bent pin on the VGA cable which took me forever to track down because my XP machines booted properly off the same cable. So re-making the connections is also a potential issue if I drag the HDTV around.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#281628 - 12/07/09 02:19 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I think I would just spend the $1600 on spare bulbs to keep on hand for when the PJ bulb dies, this way you can simply swap in the replacement bulb right away, no down time.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#281649 - 12/07/09 09:42 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: jakewash]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Can you contact the manufacturer and get their point of view?

Top
#281654 - 12/07/09 10:02 AM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: CatBrat]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
Ya, and ask them how come I can't get no Tang round here!
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#281670 - 12/07/09 01:33 PM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: Murph]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
Here ya go, Murph.


_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#281671 - 12/07/09 01:34 PM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: tomtuttle]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
Do they still make the mango flavor? That was some tasty stuff.
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#281678 - 12/07/09 02:17 PM Re: What to use as a backup display? [Re: pmbuko]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
ahhh, the added goodiness of chemically injected Vitamin C in every artificial flavor crystal. Thanks Tom.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,334 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,193 Topics
427,704 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13611
CV 11734
MarkSJohnson 11445
0 registered ()
258 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup