Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
New M60 owner looking for help
#288030 01/21/10 10:49 PM
C
regular
OP Offline
regular
C
Hi all. I'm sincerely hoping for some input from some of you guys who know a lot more than me. I'm more knowledgable about audio/electronics than your average layperson, but I am no audiophile.

About 10 years ago, after I graduated from college, I bought two Polk floorstanding speakers at Circuit City; cost me ~$250 for the pair. I don't t know the model number, but they have one tweeter and two 5-1/2" drivers each. I've always been very happy with them for the money I put into them, but I've always known they were only modest speakers. I eventually bought an 8" Polk powered sub (~$300 at Circuit City) to pair with them, and these have comprised my "home theater" audio (yes, only stereo) as well as my primary music listening setup for a number of years. Recently I decided it was time to start moving up to "big boy" audio, and invest in something I could enjoy for years.

So I ordered and received last week a pair of Axiom M60's and a VP150 center speaker. My intention is to eventually end up with a nice 5.1 setup, but I'll do it in pieces. Phase 1 is 3.1 with the M60's, VP150 and (for now) the 8" Polk sub. First let me say, in sheer physical size the M60's dwarf the old Polks. They are slightly taller but noticeably wider and much, much deeper. I'd say in cubic volume the M60's are 50% bigger than the old speakers - maybe more. And they look great! Impressive to the eyeball test. \:\)