You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » More problems with my EP500

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#288233 - 01/22/10 10:40 PM More problems with my EP500
rvrrat Offline
buff

Registered: 08/22/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Iowa, USA
Well after replacing the amp (hissing sound when off)in my 3 month old EP500 my replacement amp is now acting strange. Several times when I have turned my system on to listen to music I have noticed no or very low amount of bass. The light on the back of the sub is green but sub is not producing hardly any sound. The problem is fixed if I cycle the power switch off and then back on. Sub will then continue to work correctly for the next day or so until the problem reappears. I don't listen to crazy loud volume levels that would trip internal protection.
Any ideas?

Top
#288244 - 01/22/10 11:26 PM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: rvrrat]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Steve, Rob(Argon)has a similar thread about his reluctant EP500 in the Advice forum, which you might take a look at. I take it that the original sub amp didn't have this problem and I wonder if the new ones have a higher input voltage threshold to turn on. The first thing to try is setting the sub trim on the receiver a few points higher to increase the voltage output and make it more likely that the sub amp will "wake up". The volume control on the sub should be decreased proportionately so that the overall sub sound level stays the same.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#288302 - 01/23/10 08:09 AM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: JohnK]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
Steve,
I have had exact same problem. I would classify my 500 as new - just got it in May. I have the recent thread that John mentions as well as an older thread on the same subject. The first thread, as I recall, I was thinking it was the monoprice cable I was using. I now know it was not. Long story short (you can check the thread for the unabridged version) JC called me yesterday and is sending a new amp. The older versions had a switch for "always on" or "sleep" mode. It might behoove Axiom to reconsider the earlier revision.

Out of curiosity, what model receiver do you have?......Rob


Edited by Argon (01/23/10 08:11 AM)
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#288305 - 01/23/10 09:45 AM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: Argon]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
Steve, I'm sorry to hear your having these problems, as well as you Rob. These things should not be happening... I know it is frustrating, but you as a customer should call the 800 again and explain what is going on.

JohnK makes a good point. Where is your receiver dB level setting for the sub? I try to shoot for around 0dB on my receiver, which puts my EP600 volume knob pretty low, about 7 o'clock. However, I have an older EP600, a few years old, so the volume numbers might be different now.

Anyway, I would say call Axiom again, that is what they are here for...If I lived closer, I'd stop over. \:\) I guess it is only a 1.5 to 2hr drive, lol
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#288309 - 01/23/10 09:59 AM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: Argon]
rvrrat Offline
buff

Registered: 08/22/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Iowa, USA
Rob,

Thanks for the reply. I have an Integra DTR 9.9 receiver. It was new this last summer with my Axiom speakers (M80's, QS8's VP150 and EP500) that followed in Sept or October. My first amp had a problem of making a hissing sound at times when everything in my system was off. I was sent a replacement amp around Christmas and this one has the problem of going silent. I read the thread you guys mentioned.

I had set my EP500 up by setting the volume level at about 25% and then running the audyssey set up in the receiver. This resulted in a -2.0 level being sent to sub.

Last night I set the volume level to about 1/8th and re-ran audyssey which now gives me a +4.0 level being sent to sub. The sound is the same so I will see if this increased level to sub will keep it from having the problem.

Out of curiosity, how did you rule out the cable. Did you try another?

Steve

Top
#288312 - 01/23/10 10:13 AM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: rvrrat]
rvrrat Offline
buff

Registered: 08/22/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Iowa, USA
Randy,

My volume level is now at about 06:30, reran Auddyssey which gave me +4.0. I will see if problem reappears. I have even tried usuing a trigger cable from receiver and I have still had problems with it going silent. I never had any of these problems with my Energy sub. That thing just ran like a clock.

Top
#288353 - 01/23/10 06:20 PM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: rvrrat]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
I did try another cable. It still drops out with any cable I have tried.
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#288354 - 01/23/10 06:21 PM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: SirQuack]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
 Originally Posted By: sirquack
Steve, I'm sorry to hear your having these problems, as well as you Rob. These things should not be happening... I know it is frustrating, but you as a customer should call the 800 again and explain what is going on.

JohnK makes a good point. Where is your receiver dB level setting for the sub? I try to shoot for around 0dB on my receiver, which puts my EP600 volume knob pretty low, about 7 o'clock. However, I have an older EP600, a few years old, so the volume numbers might be different now.

Anyway, I would say call Axiom again, that is what they are here for...If I lived closer, I'd stop over. \:\) I guess it is only a 1.5 to 2hr drive, lol


Unless you are driving a plane, I think the drive is a bit longer. You are welcome anytime.....
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#288358 - 01/23/10 07:01 PM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: Argon]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
Steve's house bud. \:\)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#288403 - 01/24/10 09:54 AM Re: More problems with my EP500 [Re: SirQuack]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
10-4. I was just embellishing my post count.

BUT Seriously, folks......(I posted a related comment in the other thread) assuming the problem is in waking the sub and the crossover is set at 80 in the receiver, doesn't the probability exist that I am missing the low end completely?
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,824 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (bridgman)
35 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup